Universal Service Administrative Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Universal Service Administrative Company Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 130 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
19%
Approve of CEO
Radha Sekar
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "USAC offers good work life balance and benefits(in 25 reviews)

  • "at USAC I can see directly the impact that the work I and the organization accomplish makes a difference in people’s lives(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "USAC organized events are boring compared to the old companies I used to work for(in 17 reviews)

  • "This decrease in USAC’s rating began with the appointment of its new CEO(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Universal Service Administrative Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a good opportunity to work and gain experience, they have lots of events revolved around community bonding which is nice.

    Cons

    Instructions are not always clear even after asking for clarification, so sometimes you have to figure it out on your own.

    Universal Service Administrative Company2018-11-16
  2. "data mining and data analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Universal Service Administrative Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good company to work with

    Cons

    not so good of an environment

    Universal Service Administrative Company2019-07-31
  3. "Great stepping stone company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Engineer in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Universal Service Administrative Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits unheard off, work/life balance is great!

    Cons

    Leadership is horrible and favortism at its finest.

    Advice to Management

    Start hiring qualified employees, learn how to keep them and get rid off the unqualified one.

    Universal Service Administrative Company2019-07-26
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Historically great company, but heading in the wrong direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Service Administrative Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits package is USAC’s main attraction. They offer quality medical, dental, and vision all for only $5 per month. They also contribute 11% of your salary to your 401k regardless of whether you choose to contribute personally. Plus those employer contributions vest immediately. Salaries are relatively competitive as well. There are a few great teams within USAC that really shine. The trick is finding those...

    Show More

    Cons

    Frankly, there are several cons, so I’ll just focus on what I consider to be the root causes behind many of USAC’s current problems. As of the date this review, USAC’s overall glassdoor score is approximately 2.7, which is down from a high of about 3.6 towards the end of 2017. This decrease in USAC’s rating began with the appointment of its new CEO. She made several unpopular policy decisions when she began her tenure,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Revise your recruiting and termination practices to make it easier to bring in and retain quality personnel. Really listen to employee feedback rather than brush off their concerns. It also may be worth considering if the current CEO is the right fit. She appears to have a rigid authoritarian management style that has not traditionally been the style of past CEOs.

    Universal Service Administrative Company2019-06-27

    Universal Service Administrative Company Response

    July 19, 2019Sr. HR Manager

    Thank you for your comment and we are happy to hear that you appreciate the USAC benefits package. We value our employees and feel it’s important that we have a benefit plan that supports the needs of our workforce. Our goal is to create an environment where employees feel passionate ...

    Show More
  5. "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Service Administrative Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not much to talk about.

    Cons

    Leadership - wow, lots of room for improvement.

    Universal Service Administrative Company2019-07-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Work with no expectation and you will be happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Service Administrative Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits and less work pressure. Few teams are working on good projects. If you are lucky to land on those projects then it's a good place to learn some good technologies.

    Cons

    A good place to work if you want to retire here or have no interest in growth.

    Universal Service Administrative Company2019-05-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good worklife balance and benefits, not good for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auditor in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Universal Service Administrative Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    USAC offers good work life balance and benefits. Benefits are excellent. You could get really good experience working with many types of telecommunication carriers and learn and apply new Rules.

    Cons

    The management is not very flexible to change or new ideas. Growth is limited. A lot of changes going on with the new CEO on board.

    Advice to Management

    Be innovative and flexible.

    Universal Service Administrative Company2019-03-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good benefits and worklife balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Service Administrative Company full-time

    Pros

    One of the best benefits I have seen in my 10 year career(including generous commuter, education and training benefit). Pay is competitive. Good work life balance

    Cons

    Not much upward mobility. Work could be more challenging and connected to the mission of the program. Most of the time it's processing paperwork, and clicking buttons. Most staff have been there for decades. Not so open to change.

    Universal Service Administrative Company2019-01-12
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Reactive Not Proactive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Analyst in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Service Administrative Company full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are always the top reason. Recent company growth has lead to increased opportunities.

    Cons

    The management and atmosphere is almost always reactive. They fail to plan ahead which leads to tight deadlines and rushed projects. Recently in the company’s internal employee survey their solution to improve in areas from last year that did not score well was to remove those questions from the survey.

    Advice to Management

    Be more proactive

    Universal Service Administrative Company2018-12-07
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great Benefits, Not Challenging Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Program Analyst in Washington, DC

    I worked at Universal Service Administrative Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits were incredible, the best I've had at any employer. Besides the benefits, the compensation was decent for a non-profit and the work-life balance was nice. Most employees did not take their work home with them and were generally upbeat and enjoyed coming to work.

    Cons

    As you can tell by the name of the company, the work was very administrative. This is not the place to work if you are looking to be challenged or make an impact in day-to-day operations of the company. There was also very little room for advancement. It did not matter if you were doing a stellar job or not, management positions were only available if someone left or if there was a big need to create a position.

    Advice to Management

    Work on a career-pathing structure in order to keep good employees motivated and incentivized.

    Universal Service Administrative Company2018-11-20
Found 130 reviews