Université catholique de Louvain Reviews | Glassdoor

Université catholique de Louvain Reviews

Updated Sep 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
98%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Université catholique de Louvain CEO Vincent Blondel
Vincent Blondel
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "PhD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Université catholique de Louvain full-time

    Pros

    Nice working environnement - The PhD community was amazing . We had twice a year organisez week-ends to meet with new PhD. The salary is good.

    Cons

    There is no real collaboration between labs of the University. The university is divided into institutes, and collaboration are made within theses institutes.

    Université catholique de Louvain2019-06-26
  2. "PhD researcher at UCLouvain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Université catholique de Louvain full-time

    Pros

    - High-standard research - Societal impact and involvement

    Cons

    No always foreign language friendly / room for improvement

    Université catholique de Louvain2019-05-21
  3. "Recommend but sometimes boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Louvain-la-Neuve
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Université catholique de Louvain full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Calm atmosphere, kind and helpful people,

    Cons

    This city is so small so it is a little bit boring and nothing to enjoy.

    Université catholique de Louvain2019-01-24
  4. "Overall good research environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Researcher in Louvain-la-Neuve
    Recommends

    I worked at Université catholique de Louvain for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pretty good lab equipments in the Microelectronics Lab and knowledgeable people.

    Cons

    Research Followup by PI is not systematic, thus lowering productivity.

    Université catholique de Louvain2019-01-24
  5. "I could not expect anything more."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Research Assistant in Louvain-la-Neuve
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Université catholique de Louvain full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Academic staff, and actually every single person of any staff I have met has always been kind, welcoming, helpful and friendly (This is particularly valuable for me, it completely changes the way I feel when going to work ). - The kind of opportunities that are offered are exceptional - The UCL cares about every employee - Salary is good - Lots of events, interesting conferences, and always free and open to... everyone. - Work hours are flexible and remote work is possible

    Show More

    Cons

    - Too bad I can't work here forever.

    Université catholique de Louvain2018-11-24
  6. "Very political and hierarchical but with fair working conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Université catholique de Louvain full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Open to new ideas, I was free to share my positive and negative thoughts with my superiors with fear of being punished. Great team, with a good balance of experienced and young people, male and female, and a good work environment. Very stable job in a large organization with mobility among departments.

    Cons

    Decisions are not always logical, but sometimes political. Very hierarchical. When problems occur they go up to the top and fall down to you, in a blaming chain. Career evolution is based on time, education and politics, not on recognition and merit.

    Advice to Management

    Delegate more, trust your team to do the job and they will excel it. Defend your team and embrace them when they are attacked by the hierarchy.

    Université catholique de Louvain2018-06-27
  7. "PhD Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Université catholique de Louvain full-time

    Pros

    Academia, thus independent research. Most people are polite and nice.

    Cons

    Budget cuts make it so that equipment has occasional prolonged downtime.

    Advice to Management

    Centralize equipment, pool resources.

    Université catholique de Louvain2018-03-06
  8. "Doctoral researcher at UCLouvain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Université catholique de Louvain full-time

    Pros

    -Flexible timing and decent salary -Good infrastructure and working atmosphere

    Cons

    -The city is very small and gets boring after a point.

    Advice to Management

    -Nothing in particular

    Université catholique de Louvain2017-10-26
  9. "Postdoctoral Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in Ottignies-Louvain-la-Neuve
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Université catholique de Louvain full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Linked with many companies Good working environment

    Cons

    Isolated location, campus getting old

    Université catholique de Louvain2017-10-22
  10. "Working at UCL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Université catholique de Louvain full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible time, not too much stress.

    Cons

    If you want accomplish something it takes long time.

    Université catholique de Louvain2017-07-30
Found 62 reviews