University College London Reviews | Glassdoor

University College London Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 623 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
University College London CEO Michael Arthur
Michael Arthur
155 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent team, great location, good flexible working hours(in 40 reviews)

  • "UCL offers generous holiday allowance and pays well for the Higher Education sector(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "I have no cons to say about UCL(in 36 reviews)

  • "Noise pollution and didn't like academia(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Cool place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University College London

    Pros

    Great culture, with great people.

    Cons

    I can't think of one!

    University College London2018-04-04
  2. "MEng mathematical computation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Student in London, KY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at University College London full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good school and good teaching

      Cons

      Intensive and some lecturers don't really care

      University College London2019-04-30
    • "Student"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Student Assistant in Adelphi, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at University College London full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Excellent work environment and teaching.

      Cons

      Poor study space and over crowded facilities

      University College London2018-11-21
    • "Could do better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at University College London full-time

        Pros

        The People at University Colege London

        Cons

        University Colege London is quite Disorganised

        University College London2018-09-20
      • "Research associate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at University College London full-time

          Pros

          lots of opportunity for learning and growth

          Cons

          Not much collaboration and guidance

          University College London2018-08-09
        • "Big machine"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at University College London full-time

          Pros

          The University has some amazingly passionate minds fuelling world class research.

          Cons

          It's a big, super-inefficient machine that continues to grow inorganically without scaling the infrastructure.

          Advice to Management

          Truly invest in systems that talk with one another and empower your people - that will make an amazing University.

          University College London2018-04-16
        • "Lecturer"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Culture & Values
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at University College London full-time

          Pros

          Work-life balance, good food on campus.

          Cons

          Bad President and poor management

          Advice to Management

          Bring new President/Provost who is able to lead well.

          University College London2017-11-26
        • "Post-doctoral researcher"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at University College London full-time

            Pros

            To be part of an international well recognized organization

            Cons

            Formation levels is not proportional with the salaries in academia

            University College London2016-08-09
          • "Interning at UCL"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            Former Employee - Assistant Curator in Cambridge, MA
            Recommends
            Neutral Outlook

            I worked at University College London for less than a year

            Pros

            Wonderful people to work with, and very understanding of the student schedule. I enjoyed learning about curation from members of my department.

            Cons

            I felt that a lot of my tasks were busy work in the beginning of the internship and would have preferred more responsibility to initiate tasks.

            University College London2016-01-04
          • "Great place to work and study"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Goleta, CA
            Recommends
            Approves of CEO

            I worked at University College London part-time for more than 3 years

            Pros

            Great location, many facilities and incredible diversity

            Cons

            Can be difficult to balance work with studying.

            Advice to Management

            Management is at good levels, there is an optimum diversification and hopefully that wont change.

            University College London2015-11-05
          Found 623 reviews