University Federal Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

University Federal Credit Union Reviews

Updated Dec 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
University Federal Credit Union President and CEO Tony C. Budet (no image)
Tony C. Budet
71 Ratings
Pros
  • "UFCU Makes their employees feel at home with access to top players in the company(in 15 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, development and opportunities(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you are seeking a company that wants to make business processes and systems better, UFCU will frustrate you(in 15 reviews)

  • "There are no cons working for UFCU(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Incredible Culture... Incredible Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Operations in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University Federal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Purpose Driven Culture Incredible People Highly Focused on Member Experience High desire for Social Impact

    Cons

    Technology and Processes are lagging

    Continue reading
    University Federal Credit Union2019-06-25
  2. "A lot of heart and great vision, though occasionally misses the mark."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    tries very hard to be who they say they are

    Cons

    sometimes misses the forest for the tress

    Continue reading
    University Federal Credit Union2019-12-28
  3. "Horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University Federal Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, time off and scheduling

    Cons

    Terrible managers who pretend to care about work/life balance

    Continue reading
    University Federal Credit Union2019-12-30
  4. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefit packages are amazing and staff us friendly

    Cons

    Not rewarded for your hard work

    University Federal Credit Union2019-08-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Bad Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Days are never the same Have the ability to truly impact peoples lives

    Cons

    Doesn't listen to the concerns of it's employees Says they hire and train from within.. in truth as long as you are not in the contact center.

    Continue reading
    University Federal Credit Union2019-05-22

    University Federal Credit Union Response

    May 29, 2019HR Team

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you connected with our mission of supporting our community and impacting lives through service. We are open to learning more about opportunities for improvement that would have helped you feel more supported and would welcome further dialogue. Feel free to reach us at HumanResources@ufcu.org to discuss further.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    ""great culture" is great myth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University Federal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    * Friendly people *There are plenty of opportunities to make a difference. *Pay is relatively competitive.

    Cons

    *The wonderful "culture" is talked about all the time, but it happens in silos. *Senior leaders act friendly, but don't turn your back.... *Executives speak of wonderful stories of how members were helped. We didn't hear about failures of how we lost members and how to focus strategy on the things that matter. *Executives are really "old school". How you dress matters more than what you accomplish. *If you are seeking a company that wants to make business processes and systems better, UFCU will frustrate you.

    University Federal Credit Union2019-05-02

    University Federal Credit Union Response

    May 7, 2019HR Team

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and the competitive compensation we offer at UFCU. We agree that there are plenty of ways to make a difference here! We are open to learning more about opportunities for improvement and would welcome further dialogue. Feel free to reach us at HumanResources@ufcu.org to discuss further.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Beware snowflake culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company with a social purpose that is well respected in the community. The people are good, except as noted below.

    Cons

    Beware snowflake creating culture that does not allow people to be challenged or held accountable and as a result people are not honest with each other. Not a good environment for someone who values high performance or accountability or is a change agent. People who are minimally competent, go along to get along and like a care taker role will do well.

    University Federal Credit Union2019-03-03

    University Federal Credit Union Response

    March 5, 2019HR Team

    Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We were glad to hear that our social purpose mission of serving the community keeps you connected and engaged with us. We are interested to hear more about your comments as we strive to provide an environment where people are encouraged to be transparent, grow, and take on new responsibilities. Feel free to reach us at HumanResources@ufcu.org to discuss further. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Only good if you know the right people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, competitive pay, Tuition Reimbursement

    Cons

    Difficult to advance unless you know the right people, limited work/life balance, certain depts are very slow and limited when it becomes to improving processes; Company's technology is lackluster

    Continue reading
    University Federal Credit Union2018-12-25

    University Federal Credit Union Response

    March 5, 2019HR Team

    Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying our benefits, competitive pay, and tuition reimbursement programs. We are interested to hear about the innovative ideas you have about growth, development, and improving processes as we continually strive to make enhancements. Feel free to reach us at HumanResources@ufcu.org to discuss further. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  9. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, culture, and internal advancement opportunities

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    University Federal Credit Union2018-10-26

    University Federal Credit Union Response

    October 29, 2018HR Team

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your work experience here at UFCU. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy being a part of our work culture and that you find that we offer great internal promotion opportunities.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "My time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University Federal Credit Union

    Pros

    Coworker were the best part

    Cons

    Management was the worst part

    University Federal Credit Union2018-08-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 89 reviews