University Mechanical & Engineering Reviews | Glassdoor

University Mechanical & Engineering Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
62%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
University Mechanical & Engineering President and CEO, California Steve Shirley (no image)
Steve Shirley
3 Ratings
  1. "System Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Systems Administrator in Mill Creek, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University Mechanical & Engineering for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked for the IT Department for 2 months as part of a short term temporary contract. I really enjoyed my time at UMC. The IT leadership was great as I was given several challenging projects and was kept up to date on company wide IT issues during weekly meetings. The company had a fun culture and everyone was very friendly and easy to work with. UMC is a great place to work!

    Cons

    None that come to mind.

    University Mechanical & Engineering2016-06-01
  2. "Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer 

    I have been working at University Mechanical & Engineering full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible environment and reasonable work

    Cons

    Low pay, no incentives for admin

    University Mechanical & Engineering2019-11-17
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at University Mechanical & Engineering

    Pros

    Nice coworkers Cool projects you could work on

    Cons

    Did not have a lot of work for the intern

    University Mechanical & Engineering2017-10-02
  4. "Great company with opportunity of growth. Good benefits, 401K, PTO and holidays off."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Project Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University Mechanical & Engineering full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always trying to improve their old-school ways of managing projects. Okay Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    In terms of engineering, there is no challenge. Never used engineering background to make a decision an a project aspect. Lack of technology services -> efficiency is low.

    Advice to Management

    Making investments for new/updated technologies will be a good investment in a long run.

    University Mechanical & Engineering2017-05-31
  5. "Project Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University Mechanical & Engineering full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great training opportunities and many very genuinely nice employees.

    Cons

    No pay equality between men and women. Work/Life balance for non-management is very poor.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize that you can run a hundred jobs with 10 project team staff members.

    University Mechanical & Engineering2017-03-17
  6. "Good Experience - Not the job for Me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University Mechanical & Engineering full-time

    Pros

    Everyone in the detailing department was supportive and kind.

    Cons

    I found the job to be mundane and not challenging enough.

    University Mechanical & Engineering2017-01-07
  7. "Project Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in El Cajon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University Mechanical & Engineering full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many knowledgeable people in the company who have been with UMEC for a long time. Most senior management cares about the Company and the employee's. Great training opportunities.

    Cons

    Some of the long time employee's have never worked anywhere else, they have no experience other than UMEC, this limits their outlook and grasp on reality. A lot of back stabbing within the office environment

    Advice to Management

    Be consistent, show appreciation. Get serious about shedding the negative attitudes.

    University Mechanical & Engineering2015-10-20
  8. "Certified Welder & installer for a 5 story new construction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Welder/Sheet Metal Mechanic in Glendale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University Mechanical & Engineering full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good organization, well equipped, good conditions & terms of employment.

    Cons

    Top heavy crews. Using welding equipment outside of its design capacity.

    Advice to Management

    Hire me back.

    University Mechanical & Engineering2014-07-09
  9. "Stable job, but not alot to look forward to each day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University Mechanical & Engineering full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I knew that the company was committed to keeping their employees on the job. In the time I had worked there, nobody was laid off. It was nice to know they would double up on projects with the intention of not letting good people go. Everyone at this company is good at what they do and they deeply care about getting the job done and done right.

    Cons

    My biggest problem is that UMEC has no training program to bring their assets up the ranks. I am a qualified project engineer, but told that everything I was doing, I was doing wrong. It took about a year to get on the right track. With the lack of a training program, each position is roughly a 3-5 year position. If you want to wait that long to move into an assistant PM position, be my guest. I also question upper management's delivery method for correcting incorrect carryout. I can't tell you how many times I would be yelled at and called names (both to my face and behind my back) for not completing something the way they wanted it completed. I know UMEC is a union contractor and most of the time I feel like I was treated as they treat the union craft workers (as disposable).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is so much good talent onboard with so much "will" to do it the right way. But as much as you speak about finding and retaining the best talent in the market, you've got to follow through and treat your people like they are valued assets. Money is important but it isn't he biggest thing.

    University Mechanical & Engineering2013-02-28
  10. "Mechanical Eng"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Riyadh
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University Mechanical & Engineering full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    letter of the manager superior

    Cons

    on the street of bank river

    Advice to Management

    increment of salary every six month

    University Mechanical & Engineering2012-06-11
Found 10 reviews