University Medical Center (Las Vegas) Reviews | Glassdoor

University Medical Center (Las Vegas) Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Lab Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) full-time

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for

    Cons

    Cafeteria is not open during night shift hours as I'm sure thats the case for most hospitals.

    University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2018-08-31
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Don’t Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admitting Representative in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is union so you make a decent wage.

    Cons

    Bullying is rampant. No steps are taken to curb it. Management is afraid of some of the workers.

    Advice to Management

    Sit with employees for shifts. Take reports of bullying seriously and take action to discipline or dismiss offenders.

    University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2018-11-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Physician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) full-time

    Pros

    Great ER and specialty support

    Cons

    Chaos, nursing is combative and not encouraged to cooperate with physicians

    Advice to Management

    Hire better

    University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2018-08-10
  4. "great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) full-time

      Pros

      highest level of care, most specialist available, good benefits

      Cons

      low hourly wage, run down facility

      University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2018-07-23
    • "Receptionist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Receptionist in Lubbock, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Radiology dept is wonderful and had great Mgmt and work life balance was wonderful

      Cons

      Growth in the dept

      University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2018-03-27
    • "Registered Emergency Nurse"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - ER RN in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      An overall easy going work environment with supportive staff members and doctors. The acuity is high which gives great work experience, and since UMC has every specialty on call, you see a variety.

      Cons

      The management is fairly new, and constantly comparing us to previous hospitals they have worked at and trying to make changes base on that without considering the impact of the different workflows. In some cases the changes they are making are worse than the existing work flow.

      Advice to Management

      Stop making changes without considering the current workflow. Consider why something worked before trying to transplant it into this workflow.

      University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2018-03-14
    • "Getting tossed into the fire"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) part-time

      Pros

      Great place to learn and test your passion to see if the medical field is right for you.

      Cons

      You get to see the worst of the worst at his hospital. Poor management at times and large cases of apathy and patient neglect from employees.

      University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2018-01-30
    • "Career Advancement"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Rcp 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      UMC is a really great place to work! Most of the workers are friendly and everyone seems to get along. The pay is not that bad and the retirement plan is one of the best plans in the West!

      Cons

      Although UMC is a great place to work, there are not a lot of opportunities for career advancement. If you are not a Registered Nurse or just so happen to know someone, you can think twice in regards to moving ahead in life!

      Advice to Management

      There are a lot of talented people that work for you. They have great work ethics, they are dependable, they are team players, they hardly ever call in for work, they go above and beyond to get the job done, they have the credentials and education for jobs. However, just because they do not interview great, doesn’t mean that the employee can’t do the simplest of positions. For example, write someone up.

      University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2018-01-27
    • "Cla"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - CLA in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      The people and after 9 yrs umc became my second family

      Cons

      Great place to work iv learned a lot there and seen a lot

      Advice to Management

      To have an under standing about issues. With there employees.

      University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2017-11-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "RN"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Staff RN 

      I worked at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) part-time

      Pros

      A great place to learn. You will experience everything. Great doctors and nurses. Excellent benefits

      Cons

      You get fed to the wolves. Floated to another unit and was given a 30 min "orientation" to the unit. It felt very unsafe but they almost make you do it. I was uncomfortable and yet i was cornered in a room with 3 levels of management above me who intimidated me into it. Some of the nurses have a bullying like personality. If you can't come in and rock it in a shift or two you are talked about behind your back and...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Check in with your nurses about bullying. It is real and prevalent.

      University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2017-11-14
    Found 32 reviews