University Medical Center (Las Vegas) Reviews

Updated Feb 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
University Medical Center (Las Vegas) CEO Mason VanHouweling
Mason VanHouweling
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "The people and after 9 yrs umc became my second family(in 5 reviews)

  • "Some of the departments have really good people with good, caring managers(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor management at times and large cases of apathy and patient neglect from employees(in 3 reviews)

  • "Everyday that I got up to go to UMC was a blessing(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "RN Labor and Delivery"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    PERS and CAL time union benefits

    Cons

    lowest paid hourly wage for RN's in the valley/ health insurance is awful

    Continue reading
    University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2020-02-12
  2. "Provided interpreting services to enhance communication between Patients and Providers."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Interpreter in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely rewarding opportunities to help the community

    Cons

    Vicarious trauma & burn out schedules

    Continue reading
    University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2020-01-14
  3. "Overall-great place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aircraft Mechanic, A&P 

    I have been working at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture. Employees are valued.

    Cons

    Management does not do anything about complaints.

    University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2020-01-13
  4. "PRN"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was beneficial and good for pet diem

    Cons

    Staff helping Was not readily available

    University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2019-11-08
  5. "Great benefits...some friendly employees"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EVS Aide in Las Vegas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers in department and some others.

    Cons

    Other departments are sometimes hostile.

    University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2019-09-26
  6. "Well staffed"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture is one of treating coworkers well and doing your best

    Cons

    This is an old hospital in need of renovation.

    University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2019-08-14
  7. "Life enhancing experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Account Specialist in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working with and assisting people from all over the world. That job allowed me to help people on a daily basis.

    Cons

    I couldn't help everyone, and I did get attached to people who were terminal

    Continue reading
    University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2019-06-08
  8. "12 years down the drain"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HIM Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits. Great hours.

    Cons

    Bad management. Went through 3 directors and still no one could run the department. Too much gossip and favoritism.

    Continue reading
    University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2019-06-11
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Good Job Depending on Which Department You Work In"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, UMC is a county-hospital so you qualify for a pension after working here for 5 years. Some of the departments have really good people with good, caring managers.

    Cons

    It a union environment so there are a lot of lazy employees here who act like they can't get fired. The departments can be hit and miss. Some departments have supervisors who landed their job based on who they know rather than their actual abilities.

    University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2018-11-19
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Don’t Work Here"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admitting Representative in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at University Medical Center (Las Vegas) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is union so you make a decent wage.

    Cons

    Bullying is rampant. No steps are taken to curb it. Management is afraid of some of the workers.

    Continue reading
    University Medical Center (Las Vegas)2018-11-15
Found 57 reviews