University of Alberta Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Alberta Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
University of Alberta CEO Dr. David Turpin (no image)
Dr. David Turpin
106 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low salary and poor compensation and benefits(in 26 reviews)

  • "Busy while being a student, low pay(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at University of Alberta

    Pros

    the work there is flexible

    Cons

    so far I very much enjoy working there

    University of Alberta2019-01-11
  2. "Research assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at University of Alberta

    Pros

    total was great experience

    Cons

    total was great experience and i recommend it.

    University of Alberta2018-09-02
  3. "Research Assitant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Edmonton, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Alberta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Challenging environment -Acess to unlimted academic resources

    Cons

    None really it is one of the best places to work in

    University of Alberta2018-02-27
  4. "Working here as a graduate student in engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graduate Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Alberta for less than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible schedule as a research assistant - you get to do research, take some valuable skills with you - University with a fair amount of prestige and reputation in Canada - If you have good research supervisor, all is good. If not... good luck

    Cons

    - Flexible schedule as research assistant - Recent economic downturn seem to have hit the engineering department hard - How you overall experience is depends more on your research supervisor - too much bureacracy - How many machine shops do you need? - new construction projects in engineering just seem to be a money drain, the building facilities have many issues which can affect your experiments - Edmonton... is an orange town, expect lots of entitled union workers in the university - I did research before at University of Calgary also, my honest opinion is it is waaay easier to get stuff done at U of C than U of A. - IT infrastructure seems to be lagging behind other institutions - Edmonton's northern location is inconvenient, takes too long for supplies to arrive

    Show More
    University of Alberta2017-10-16
  5. "Standard university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Alberta full-time

    Pros

    Nice place to work.

    Cons

    Lots of bureaucracy but that is standard for a university.

    University of Alberta2017-03-16
  6. "Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Alberta full-time

    Pros

    Excellent work environment, lots of time off, great benefits and retirement plan.

    Cons

    Association (union), which means that everyone gets the same step increase each year, regardless of effort. This means the superstars are not recognized.

    Advice to Management

    Work to recognize employees and empower change. Too often this work environment can become stagnant.

    University of Alberta2016-11-25
  7. "PhD student in Computing Science"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     

    I have been working at University of Alberta

    Pros

    Professors are very nice. Grad students are friendly.

    Cons

    The weather is too cold.

    University of Alberta2016-10-26
  8. "PhD Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Alberta

    Pros

    Great School, vibrant campus and cutting edge research topics

    Cons

    Super cold city! This also has adverse effects on human resources

    University of Alberta2016-10-03
  9. "Graduate Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graduate Research Assistant in Nw Plaza, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Alberta for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a good place for graduate studies, I like working here a lot, people are funny.

    Cons

    Edmonton is pretty cold, the city is quite old and noisy. It's not safe to come out in the night.

    Advice to Management

    University needs to tight their funding, cut the useless people, let the real valuable people stay

    University of Alberta2016-09-09
  10. "PhD student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Alberta full-time

    Pros

    Good engineering reputation, good stipend compare to other Canadian university, flexible hours, let you work on your own. I have friends from other departments as well and didnt hear any complaint from them except in medicine regarding budget cut.

    Cons

    Nothing that I think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up good work and helping students as you do now.

    University of Alberta2016-08-30
Found 659 reviews