University of Arizona Postdoctoral Research Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Arizona Postdoctoral Research Associate Reviews

Updated Mar 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
98%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
University of Arizona President Ann Weaver Hart
Ann Weaver Hart
4 Ratings
  1. "Perfect place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arizona full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    very professional, friendly, and willing to help

    Cons

    Not a competitive salary ..

    University of Arizona2019-03-31
  2. "postdoc in the lab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in New Tucson, AZ

    I worked at University of Arizona full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good benefits for all employee

    Cons

    less funding for research in life science

    Advice to Management

    not much care about lower employee

    University of Arizona2018-01-07
  3. "Good for international postdocs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Postdoctoral Research Associate in Tucson, AZ

    I have been working at University of Arizona for more than 3 years

    Pros

    NIH level salary, low cost of living

    Cons

    Poor core facilities, no local industry

    Advice to Management

    None

    University of Arizona2017-12-28
  4. "Difficult Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Tucson, AZ

    I have been working at University of Arizona full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -School spirit -Pretty campus -Good pay and benefits -Good-quality instruments and reagents

    Cons

    -Very slow in the beginning (took almost 3 months for HR to do the paperwork for my offer letter, 2 months to get my first paycheck, and 1 month to get my computer) -Stressful environment, very high expectations -Difficult to get work done with the constant stress and pressure to publish -Does not offer good work-life balance

    Advice to Management

    -Make expectations known from the beginning -Offer better work-life balance -Provide encouragement and help when needed -Give constructive criticism -Improve communications

    University of Arizona2017-09-14
  5. "Decent enviroment and pay, but no retirement benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate 

    I have been working at University of Arizona full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to live. Decent pay compared to cost of living

    Cons

    Post docs don't qualify for retirement benefits

    University of Arizona2017-09-07
  6. "good university, but laid-back environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Arizona full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked as a postdoc in UoA, People are nice to work with, and a lot of interesting research going on at UoA

    Cons

    Things are not moving fast enough, especially in labs that have been established for a long time. Younger faculties are usually more aggressive in doing researches and publishing papers, but I can't say this is true in every lab. Direct impact is that it really take a lot of student a long time to finish their PhD. Beside, A lot of faculties is leaving, moving to better universities or larger cities.

    Advice to Management

    Should provide more resources to support researches of student and postdoc.

    University of Arizona2016-06-06
  7. "Postdoctoral research associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arizona full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Scientific community is really big :-) Opportunity for collaboration A lot to do outdoors when not working

    Cons

    The pay and benefits are not great. No relocation assistance offered.

    Advice to Management

    See cons

    University of Arizona2016-04-12
  8. "Large research university in a homely, but growing city"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arizona full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interdisciplinary research is encouraged. Freedom to pursue whatever research appeals to you so long as it is meaningful to science and/or society (e.g. publish articles, get grants, engage in research with students). Faculty and staff are very welcoming.

    Cons

    For postdocs, university-wide career development (i.e. seminars, courses, counselors) is either nonexistent or not extensive. Career development is heavily focused on undergraduates and graduates, and deservedly so, but postdocs need help too.

    Advice to Management

    Consider developing a more concrete program that will help postdoctoral fellows with future career prospects. Employment in academia is not everyone's goal neither is it an easy target given limited job growth in this area.

    University of Arizona2015-01-26
  9. "Post-doctoral Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate I in Tucson, AZ

    I have been working at University of Arizona full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    State of AZ has a good benefits package. Cost of living in Tucson is low.

    Cons

    Having your employment dependent upon grant funding can be difficult. Change in department culture since arrival of new department head - not positive

    University of Arizona2014-10-17
  10. "My adventure to Arizona"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate I in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arizona full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very professional professor and staff. The topic of research coincides with my field of interest. All necessary equipment and materials are provided

    Cons

    Too hot climate, boring city, It is hard to find the place for parking. The nature is poor and has no interesting places besides the grand canyon

    University of Arizona2014-09-18
Found 15 reviews