University of Arizona Research Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Research Specialist

University of Arizona Research Specialist Reviews

Updated Sep 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
University of Arizona President Ann Weaver Hart
Ann Weaver Hart
2 Ratings
  1. "benefits include health, dental, and vision insurance plans; paid vacation, sick leave, and holidays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Specialist in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arizona part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    UA/ASU/NAU tuition reduction for the employee and qualified family members

    Cons

    Constant pay rate for several years

    University of Arizona2019-09-02
  2. "Great place to work in Tucson, AZ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Specialist in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arizona full-time

    Pros

    Laidback work environment. Get a break on tuition. Facilities are nice, people are nice, what you would expect from a university, I like it very much.

    Cons

    Administratively, things can move slowly sometimes. I was never in too much of a position where I needed anything from admin, so this didn't bother me much.

    Advice to Management

    No comments, I am happy with how everything is.

    University of Arizona2019-08-15
  3. "It was a great job but funding ran out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Research Specialist 

    I worked at University of Arizona for less than a year

    Pros

    Low cost of living, good environment

    Cons

    The summer heat, that's about it

    University of Arizona2019-07-04
  4. "Arizona Biorepository"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Specialist in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Arizona full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with Dr. David T. Harris was a great experience. He knows how to treat his employees and get the job done. As an employee of The University of Arizona, I received competitive benefits and also was allowed to take classes for dirt cheap. It was also solid entry level hands-on experience working in a bio laboratory.

    Cons

    I thought it was a bit on the low end of the pay grade especially working with biohazardous human specimans on the daily. Also, social politics and pettiness seemed to get the best of a few coworkers at times. I guess the negatives of the job were the price to pay working at a university as opposed to competitive industry.

    University of Arizona2018-12-05
  5. "Good benefits, no upward mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Specialist in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arizona full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Health benefits and ASRS system are good. Being on campus has its perks.

    Cons

    If you are hired as a researcher in a lab group there is little room for upward mobility or raises.

    University of Arizona2018-07-25
  6. "Research Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Specialist in Tucson, AZ

    I worked at University of Arizona full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule, good work-life balance

    Cons

    Nothing obvious in my opinion.

    University of Arizona2018-06-27
  7. "Great company to work for, hard to move up without a PhD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Research Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Arizona full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Amazing supervisors Consistent learning opportunites

    Cons

    Salary Retirement is not matched initially

    University of Arizona2017-08-25
  8. "Research Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Specialist 

    I worked at University of Arizona full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Able to work when I wanted

    Cons

    Low pay for my position

    University of Arizona2017-03-28
  9. "Research specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Specialist in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at University of Arizona full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pt care and team

    Cons

    Salary and leaderahip, high turnover, over worked and underpayed, unfair and unjust salaries, no evals

    Advice to Management

    No room for growth

    University of Arizona2016-05-16
  10. "Fantastic student employment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Specialist in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arizona part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working on campus has its perks, especially with hectic class scheduling. Environments are friendly and departmental staff are amazing.

    Cons

    Working with the new regulations and restrictions with student employment is a real headache.

    University of Arizona2014-05-29
Found 16 reviews