University of Arizona Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Arizona Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1114 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
University of Arizona CEO Ann Weaver Hart
Ann Weaver Hart
305 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not so many direct flights from Tucson(in 40 reviews)

  • "Professors don’t usually care about having you grade so many papers(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arizona full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You can make a difference if you choose to

    Cons

    It's a public institution ...so... bureaucracy.

    University of Arizona2019-07-17
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arizona full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Access to senior leadership teams across the University.

    Cons

    Lots of political maneuvering due to the nature of the organization.

    University of Arizona2019-07-11
  3. "Amazing training and coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Peer Educator in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Arizona part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well trained and supported by senior staff. Ability to work with flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Minimal pay and difficult to find free parking within close proximity.

    University of Arizona2019-07-10
  4. "Great place to be a graduate student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arizona full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great weather (9/12 months), great food/beer scene, great hiking/climbing, low cost of living

    Cons

    Hot Summers, somewhat isolated location

    University of Arizona2019-06-30
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at University of Arizona part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Pro education Room for advancement

    Cons

    None to be had whatsoever. Great place to work

    Advice to Management

    Keep up good work

    University of Arizona2019-06-28
  6. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator, Research Administration in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Arizona full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and good benefits. Department heads seem really invested in their departments and employees.

    Cons

    Parking can be a nightmare. Management can be detached.

    Advice to Management

    Really work with employees to connect with them and ensure they feel they are well taken care of. Offer support or help take some of the workload if possible.

    University of Arizona2019-07-12
  7. "Well, it's a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Technician in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arizona full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Learned skills on the job related to correspondence, liaising with different offices, sterile culture, etc -Some enjoyable people also found themselves working there, making the day much more enjoyable -Allowed to listen to Spotify -

    Cons

    -Low pay despite requiring a degree -Lab was mismanaged -Superiors did not understand the basics of Microsoft suite -Resistance to new ideas -Seemingly arbitrary punitive actions against employees -Was required to come in after-hours with no overtime compensation

    Advice to Management

    Make sure your principal investigators are up to date with their technological abilities. It made no sense to me that I was answering to individuals who wouldn't be able to pass a Chemistry I lab course due to inability to create graphs in excel.

    University of Arizona2019-07-10
  8. "Great place for part time student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Support in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Arizona part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great managers, acted as mentors. Was very mindful of my schoolwork and always tried working around my schedule.

    Cons

    Nothing, great experience, learned a lot and took with me after I graduated as well.

    University of Arizona2019-06-20
  9. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Arizona full-time

    Pros

    Good work environment for recent graduates.

    Cons

    Poor Management and communication with HR about issues.

    University of Arizona2019-06-28
  10. "Great hours and flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Office Assistant in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Arizona part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    management is great and pay is ok

    Cons

    there is no cons to working as a student

    University of Arizona2019-06-27
Found 1114 reviews