University of Arizona "tucson" Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Arizona Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
University of Arizona President Ann Weaver Hart
Ann Weaver Hart
337 Ratings
  1. "GA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Arizona part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    relaxed, opportunities to learn, good work-life balance

    Cons

    relatively low pay, Tucson weather gets really hot in summer

    University of Arizona2018-09-13
  2. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arizona full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful Campus - good work/life balance

    Cons

    Off campus, Tucson can be hit or miss

    University of Arizona2018-08-13
  3. "Lack of accountability, bureaucratic nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arizona full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, a lot of great employees, a paid week off at Christmas

    Cons

    They recruit talented people from all over the country who move to Tucson with the intention of staying for the long term. Some people have great experiences, but others lack the support they need to succeed and then are stuck because there are so few other jobs in the area. Some common issues: Vastly different pay for similar job titles and responsibilities. Bosses who refuse to put anything in writing (due to public records laws), leading to a lack of accountability. Bosses who have been promoted to level of their incompetence (and beyond). Complicated organizational structure that makes it near impossible to effectuate change. Annual contracts for (non-faculty) professionals. This provides a level of job security, but can also held over your head to elicit subordination (they do not need a justification to non-renew). The old guard administration does not want to change and you face ostracism if you try to make significant improvements. Also the parking is very expensive for employees and there are very few spots.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay people fairly and stop giving everyone different job titles to justify inequitable salaries. Get rid of administrators who perpetuate a fear-based, self-defeating culture. Empower employees to improve their working environments.

    University of Arizona2018-09-01
  4. "U of A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Tucson, AZ

    I have been working at University of Arizona

    Pros

    Great benefits, job security, insurance, clean buildings, tuition reduction, paid holidays off, you get to work and live in Tucson which has a very reasonable cost of living

    Cons

    Some of the bad things about working at the university is that you can get stuck in one position without prospect of moving ahead

    University of Arizona2018-04-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professor 

    I worked at University of Arizona full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Depends on the department or program. Library and tech support are adequate. Nice climate except for May through October. Major pro: Tucson airport.

    Cons

    UA suffers from the same anxieties & frustrations of all tier 2 (and lower) universities. Worst is its rigid and antiquated top-down administrative structure where all faculty input is only (at best) "advisory to the department head" and dept. head input is advisory to the dean, and so on to the Provost and President and on up to the Arizona Board of Regents who are... well, it's Arizona. Possible to get by via special deals, carve-outs, niche opportunities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't assume the Univ. of Arizona operates the way most other land-grant state universities do. It does not. Find out why your predecessor(s) left.

    University of Arizona2018-03-10
  6. "Business Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arizona full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great community, staff, and students

    Cons

    Tucson gets way too hot

    University of Arizona2018-01-02
  7. "It's a graduate school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arizona full-time

    Pros

    Good facilities Good support staff Tucson is pretty nice in the winter

    Cons

    Poor at helping transition out of academia

    University of Arizona2017-11-15
  8. "Awful Place in Every Way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arizona

    Pros

    It's a five word minimum. I cannot say any more.

    Cons

    This campus makes it very clear visitors are not welcome!!!! I had the unfortunate experience of attending a conference here. I informed the conference sponsors just how horrible this campus is and how no one should attend this campus (it was poorly attended so I can imagine I didn't need to tell them much). I live here in this state, but my children will not be attending this institution. The campus is dirty, overcrowded, and in a dangerous part of town. The conference sponsors were great, however the people working at the campus were not. Navigating the campus is a nightmare, parking is another nightmare. The people that are employed at this campus are untrained, rude and incompetent and made it clear outsiders are not wanted there. I recently attended a meeting at NORTHERN ARIZONA UNIVERSITY- WONDERFUL SCHOOL!!!! The campus is lovely, the people are friendly and accommodating to both locals and visitors. The professors are some of the best and brightest in their fields. They presented their research as teacher-scholars- no comparison to the U of A who relies on untrained part-timers to teach your children (think about what you are getting for the high cost of tuition). There are much higher quality institutions in this state, for much less!! Small class sizes taught by full-time faculty that know how to teach in a safe part of the state. I'm sure there are other decent schools in this state, but there is no way I would let my child attend UofA ever. As a side note, I work in a STEM field in this state for a company that has employed several grads from UofA to save money. They could not perform the job so out-of-state applicants are relocated at high expense (they are always the better candidate- its unfortunate, but they are better educated, better trained, better workers, and then would invariably leave because Tucson was an awful town and the candidate and their family couldn't stand it here). There's a whole new fresh world out there everyone! Don't be afraid to look elsewhere, even if its up north or out of state- the education is better and it will take you places- trust me!

    Show More
    University of Arizona2017-10-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "University of Arizona"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arizona full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Tucson, university, central city, maybe ok for law economics bioscience business. Terrible for humanities, sciences, arts, and social science - i.e. those disciplines interested in truthful exploration and knowledge.

    Cons

    I find the UA a really terrible place to work. The institution hates its employees.

    Advice to Management

    Mangement is the problem. It can't be addressed or fixed. It's only goal and purpose is the demoralization of the faculty and staff.

    University of Arizona2017-07-06
  10. "Great people and scheduling, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Arizona part-time

    Pros

    If you are an undergrad or graduate student, they are good with capping hours or giving you a really flexible schedule. Depending on the department, you can actually move up to something with more responsibility and hours. I worked in four different departments in my time at the U and everyone in each one was so amazing, went above and beyond just being employees.

    Cons

    The pay is so low. They leave it at minimum wage when most places in Tucson have gone well above that by now. Also you have to pay to park on campus so there goes most of your check.

    Advice to Management

    Increase student worker wage. They are the backbone of the University.

    University of Arizona2017-06-07
Found 82 reviews