University of Arkansas at Little Rock Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Arkansas at Little Rock Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 91 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
University of Arkansas at Little Rock CEO Andrew Rogerson
Andrew Rogerson
13 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, understaffed, does not value staff(in 8 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Prevention Project Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prevention Project Officer in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Arkansas at Little Rock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment People are friendly Self pace Good benefits

    Cons

    No cons flexible you have to be a self-starter no chances of increasing salary

    University of Arkansas at Little Rock2017-12-18
  2. "Three Years Was Enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Little Rock, AR
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at University of Arkansas at Little Rock full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Time off, decent benefits, met some good people, ability to do many things,

    Cons

    Upper management, expectations far exceed salary, Arkansas conservatism, lack of support,

    Advice to Management

    Treat workers better, add more middle managers. The expectations are ridiculous for a public college in a bottom-ranked state. People are put in charge that have no business being there.

    University of Arkansas at Little Rock2019-02-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Student Affairs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Arkansas at Little Rock full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    I guess the time off is about all I can think of.

    Cons

    Low morale, staff disregarded, high turnover, lack of communication, fiefdoms are prevalent, too many upper admin positions and not enough lower level staff, low pay compared to other institutions

    Advice to Management

    You really need to open the door and be willing to actually hear and listen to the concerns of staff and faculty. Your policies are divisive and create more stress on the people actually doing the work. It's great to have a "Yes" campaign, but you don't follow through.

    University of Arkansas at Little Rock2018-10-02
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Little Rock, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arkansas at Little Rock full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Benefits are about the only real pro to working here. The salaries for technical staff are all about 20-30% below market average.

    Cons

    Too many "Management" positions and not enough line level workers. I think the manager to employee ratio for the teams in central IT are 1:5?

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring Managers. Start hiring technical experts.

    University of Arkansas at Little Rock2018-08-28
  5. "IT Services Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Arkansas at Little Rock part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Nice place to work, Keep you busy all the time

    Cons

    The scheduled time sheet not so nit.

    University of Arkansas at Little Rock2018-08-18
  6. "Rate a Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Little Rock, AR

    I worked at University of Arkansas at Little Rock full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    To perform exceptionally welling my job

    Cons

    Work roles at small companies are often less specialized than at large firms.

    University of Arkansas at Little Rock2018-05-18
  7. "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at University of Arkansas at Little Rock full-time

      Pros

      Employee Tuition Discount is very good

      Cons

      Little opportunity for growth and competitive salaries.

      University of Arkansas at Little Rock2018-05-21
    • "Adjunct Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at University of Arkansas at Little Rock part-time

      Pros

      Great flexibility. Perks of being an employee of the university (e.g. gym access).

      Cons

      Low pay. Less engaged, nontraditional students.

      Advice to Management

      Increase adjunct pay.

      University of Arkansas at Little Rock2018-04-04
    • "Great Environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Research Assistant in Little Rock, AR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at University of Arkansas at Little Rock for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Professors and coworkers were helpful and you will learn a lot from them.

      Cons

      I like it and don't find cons

      University of Arkansas at Little Rock2018-02-26
    • "Great place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Graduate Assistant 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at University of Arkansas at Little Rock full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      As a graduate student, you have teaching assistantship opportunity even the first semester. If you are new, all employees and colleagues are welcome to help you.

      Cons

      Grant opportunity sometimes is difficult which is one of the struggling parts of the research.

      Advice to Management

      I would recommend hiring more faculties with different research field. That may help to increase the incoming funds to school as well.

      University of Arkansas at Little Rock2018-01-06
    Found 91 reviews