University of Bristol Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Bristol Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 199 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
University of Bristol CEO The Right Honourable the Baroness Hale of Richmond
The Right Honourable the Baroness Hale of Richmond
52 Ratings
  1. "Admissions Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Bristol part-time

    Pros

    Friendly environment and low stress work

    Cons

    Limited career development opportunities, a con if young

    Advice to Management

    --

    University of Bristol2018-12-08
  2. "Student Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Ambassador in Bristol, England
    Recommends

    I worked at University of Bristol part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Excellent pay - Opportunity to work on a variety of events - Flexible hours- able to sign up for shifts whenever you want - Excellent training - Friendly and organised staff in charge of ambassadors - Opportunity to develop a range of skills through events, e.g. public speaking skills (some of the work involved required you to deliver presentations to large groups of students)

    Cons

    - Not a direct con of the job but sometimes it was hard to get regular work. Depends on the time of the year

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! This role is fantastic for students' personal development, particular with the comprehensive training.

    University of Bristol2018-11-29
  3. "Research Assistant Undergraduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at University of Bristol full-time

      Pros

      Excellent team, communication, learning experience

      Cons

      Long hours, some work was laborious

      University of Bristol2018-11-28
    • "Student"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Student in Bristol, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at University of Bristol full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good night life, people are interesting. Some okay lecturers.

      Cons

      Teaching quality is so poor. Low contact hours. Work rarely marked. M ost students disengaged.

      Advice to Management

      Sort it out

      University of Bristol2018-12-11
    • "Research"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at University of Bristol full-time

      Pros

      nice people, hard working

      Cons

      very competitive, sometimes slow, long hours

      University of Bristol2018-12-10
    • "Good PhD experience on the whole"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at University of Bristol full-time

        Pros

        Great research university, extremely talented staff.

        Cons

        Support could have been easier to get a hold of when it was most needed.

        University of Bristol2018-11-17
      • "Very good working environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Research Associate 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at University of Bristol full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good work-life balance, learning opportunities, high scientific quality of work

        Cons

        Difficult to use different skills, can be isolating work.

        University of Bristol2018-11-10
      • "msc in robotics"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at University of Bristol full-time

        Pros

        Robotic lab in Bristol providing valuable training

        Cons

        Big classes with many students

        University of Bristol2018-10-25
      • "telephone fundraiser"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Telephone Fundraiser in Bristol, England

          I worked at University of Bristol for more than a year

          Pros

          good pay, nice team, good hours. flexible hours

          Cons

          I don't think there are any

          Advice to Management

          keep doing what you're doing

          University of Bristol2018-10-23
        • "Open Day Steward and Representative"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at University of Bristol part-time

          Pros

          Great people, good rates of pay, lots of opportunities

          Cons

          Communication was terrible - things would go missing and never be replaced, concerns were not listened to, feedback from lower level employees was never implemented

          Advice to Management

          Listen to the students! Things could be improved dramatically by getting feedback from student ambassadors and open day stewards. We see so many problems that you don't since you don't actually work these open days. They are so easily remedied but no one ever listens or does anything, and we don't have to power to fix them ourselves.

          University of Bristol2018-11-01
        Found 199 reviews