University of California Berkeley Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
77%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
University of California Berkeley Chancellor and Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost Carol T. Christ (no image)
Carol T. Christ
87 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours, great team of supervisors (engineering department specifically)(in 115 reviews)

  • "Good work environment surrounded by like minded individuals(in 109 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay; political; long hours; hierarchy(in 91 reviews)

  • "The salary for graduate student is low, especially in the Bay Area(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good work study"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Student Lab Assistant in Berkeley, CA

    I worked at University of California Berkeley part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedules for students, good pay

    Cons

    Having to be at this crazy school

    University of California Berkeley2020-05-28
  2. "Overwhelmingly Positive Experience for UCB Retirement Center"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Office Assistant in Berkeley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at University of California Berkeley part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The greatest place I've had to privilege to work at Friendly people, much support, meaningful work.

    Cons

    Downtimes come and go depending on the time of year

    University of California Berkeley2020-05-19
  3. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Deep Dive Instructor and Tutor 

    I have been working at University of California Berkeley full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great team of supervisors (engineering department specifically)

    Cons

    Pay is good but not great

    University of California Berkeley2020-05-12
  4. "Enjoeyd my time at Berkeley"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student Researcher 

    I have been working at University of California Berkeley full-time

    Pros

    UC Berkeley is one of the best schools in Computer Science. Both faculty and students are top-notch. Learned about from great people.

    Cons

    Rent is expensive in this area.

    University of California Berkeley2020-05-11
  5. "World Class University"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor in Berkeley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of California Berkeley full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    World class university with smart faculty and students. Renowned history, very research oriented.

    Cons

    Bureaucratic, often slow, HR function is terrible.

    Continue reading
    University of California Berkeley2020-05-24
  6. "Good job for a student"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Library Employee 

    I worked at University of California Berkeley part-time

    Pros

    I’m glad I was able to work at a library and do homework and learn some great skills

    Cons

    They don’t give employees any true benefits. Even when I worked over 20 hours a week, I didn’t have access to substantial benefits

    University of California Berkeley2020-05-25
  7. "Facilities Coordinator"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities Coordinator in Berkeley, CA

    I worked at University of California Berkeley part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible work hours and lots of job opportunities

    Cons

    Jobs are widely available so it sometimes is hard to get shifts

    University of California Berkeley2020-05-09
  8. "Mostly good with good opportunities"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at University of California Berkeley part-time

    Pros

    Good pay and good working relationship within the department. Good support from higher-ups for the day-to-day

    Cons

    Not open to new suggestions and very bogged down in the old way of doing things. Fails to implement new ideas simply because it would take time.

    University of California Berkeley2020-05-24
  9. "Work but not Career"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Coordinator in Berkeley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of California Berkeley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance Opportunities to learn through Extension classes and Lynda.com

    Cons

    Compensation is sub-market Limited career growth opportunities

    University of California Berkeley2020-05-23
  10. "Berkeley sometimes pays a lot for administrative work on courses"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Course Reader in Berkeley, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of California Berkeley part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This work can supplement academic studies or other income generation

    Cons

    Depending on the professor you may have a lot of work

    University of California Berkeley2020-05-20
Found 2295 reviews