University of Cambridge Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Cambridge Reviews

Updated Jun 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 579 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
University of Cambridge CEO Sir Leszek Borysiewicz
Sir Leszek Borysiewicz
181 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "no much possibilities for career in academia(in 19 reviews)

  • "Very poor career progression opportunities unless you are one of the lucky few academics(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Cambridge part-time

    Pros

    Libraries Church service Formal dinners/ balls Methods training Beautiful architecture, gorgeous gardens/surroundings and rich historical heritage

    Cons

    Students-to-faculty ratio for grads very high leading to low face-time/ interactions with faculty

    Advice to Management

    Better maintenance of facilities and upgrading (like there's not enough slots to plug in your laptop in classrooms in several buildings)

    University of Cambridge2019-02-22
  2. "Fantastic science and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PhD Candidate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Cambridge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    World class research institution in an idyllic setting

    Cons

    Some scientific facilities are very dated

    University of Cambridge2019-02-06
  3. "Don't do a humanities PhD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at University of Cambridge full-time

      Pros

      You can sleep in and set your own schedule

      Cons

      You become unemployable in anything other than the academy.

      University of Cambridge2018-11-10
    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at University of Cambridge

        Pros

        - Pick a decent department to work with, and a good college

        Cons

        - can feel like Google: a hit-or-miss situation with the group

        University of Cambridge2018-09-27
      • "Research assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at University of Cambridge part-time

          Pros

          Great community, vast network, excellent place to live

          Cons

          various departments, colleges, etc that have to coordinate both big and little things, sometimes leading to problems

          University of Cambridge2017-06-15
        • "Postdoctoral Fellow"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Berkeley, CA
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at University of Cambridge full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          It's a great university with plenty of interesting activities around!

          Cons

          There isn't much of a nightlife unless you go to London (45 mins away)

          University of Cambridge2017-02-05
        • "Research Associate"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at University of Cambridge

          Pros

          working with smart people. Great place to do research

          Cons

          pay is not very good

          University of Cambridge2016-10-14
        • "PhD Student in Materials Science"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at University of Cambridge

          Pros

          Great place to live and study. Join the Cambridge bubble! Possibly the best university in the world to do research

          Cons

          Can't think of anything negative.

          University of Cambridge2016-10-06
        • "Great place to work in an inspiring academic environment"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I worked at University of Cambridge for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Great city, wonderful people and academic/college life like nowhere else in the world

          Cons

          salaries not great and need to be very lucky like I was to have a good supervisor/PI

          University of Cambridge2016-07-29
        • "PhD student"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher in Lawrence, KS

            I worked at University of Cambridge for less than a year

            Pros

            Amazing place to study, great and inspiring teaching faculty

            Cons

            None really that I can think of. Well maybe the British weather

            University of Cambridge2016-03-15
          Found 579 reviews