University of Cambridge "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Cambridge Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
University of Cambridge CEO Sir Leszek Borysiewicz
Sir Leszek Borysiewicz
214 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Like with all academia work, pay is bad(in 21 reviews)

  • "Low salary for Cambridge prices(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Project Manager in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Cambridge for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, lots of flexibility on working hours/days. Excellent access to training opportunities within your area of expertise and outside.

    Cons

    Anarchy of academia!

    University of Cambridge2019-11-22
  2. "A balanced lifestyle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Database Administrator in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Cambridge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits 28/33 holidays plus bank holidays Cycle to work scheme Provides good work life balance Located in a beautiful city

    Cons

    Pays less in comparison to other Universities

    University of Cambridge2019-11-05
  3. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Student 

    I have been working at University of Cambridge full-time

    Pros

    Lots of academic freedom - really lovely work/life balance

    Cons

    Low pay for PhD - Cambridge is expensive!

    University of Cambridge2019-11-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Student in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Cambridge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance for students/ researchers.

    Cons

    West Cambridge location is further than most departments.

    University of Cambridge2019-10-22
  5. "Excellent academic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Marie Curie Early Stage Researcher - PhD Student in Cambridge, England

    I have been working at University of Cambridge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility in work hours, excellent teammates, academic freedom

    Cons

    Low pay, long hours despite being flexible, tough work and could take over your work-life balance

    University of Cambridge2019-10-14
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Cambridge, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Cambridge full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, great work environment, good work life-balance, great co-worker, cambens discounts (discounts for large variety of shops, experiences etc)

    Cons

    not much chance to move up

    University of Cambridge2019-08-14
  7. "Great place where to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Postdoctoral Research Fellow 
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Cambridge

    Pros

    Great people, excellent community and a lot of opportunities to grow

    Cons

    Sometimes low work life balance

    University of Cambridge2019-07-16
  8. "Fantastic Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Cambridge full-time

    Pros

    A PhD experience depends partly on your supervisor and the subject. I love my subject and my supervisor is great so I'm having a fantastic time here. Freedom Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    PhD's can sometimes feel a bit isolated. It's not true 'teamwork'. Food/Coffee isn't great

    University of Cambridge2019-03-25
  9. "research associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Cambridge full-time

    Pros

    top class research institute with top facilities

    Cons

    work life balance lack of personal development

    University of Cambridge2019-03-22
  10. "Research associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I have been working at University of Cambridge

    Pros

    Flexible working time; nice working environment; good work-life balance

    Cons

    There is a very competitive career pathway

    University of Cambridge2019-03-04
Found 46 reviews