University of Central Arkansas Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Central Arkansas Reviews

Updated Mar 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Tom Courtway
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "The beautiful campus was well maintained and provided a lovely backdrop(in 6 reviews)

  • "I am a student at UCA and I work part-time as a tutor for the Center for Writing and Communication(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "The only negative thing I have to say about working at UCA is the lack of communication(in 3 reviews)

  • "Hard to balance with school, part-time jobs, community service, campus involvement, and leadership roles(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Conway, AR

    I have been working at University of Central Arkansas part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    g ood pay

    Cons

    n othing

    University of Central Arkansas2019-01-22
  2. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Graduate Assistant 

      I have been working at University of Central Arkansas full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      It was a good work and school environment.

      Cons

      no comment on this area

      University of Central Arkansas2019-03-05
    • "Great experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 

        I worked at University of Central Arkansas part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great community and professional setting

        Cons

        The pay for the position was much lower than national average

        University of Central Arkansas2019-02-20
      • "Amazing institution with amazing colleagues"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at University of Central Arkansas full-time

          Pros

          My fellow staff and coworkers were amazing. Institution is on a good path with a great president and staff leading the direction of the University. Genuinely feels like a home-away-from-home for students and staff.

          Cons

          Pay is relatively low in comparison to other institutions. It's also hard to be promoted from within.

          University of Central Arkansas2019-01-08
        • "Graduate Research Assistant"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at University of Central Arkansas part-time

            Pros

            Education is paid for

            Cons

            Not much experience you can take into the real world

            University of Central Arkansas2018-12-18
          • "Employee at the HPER Center"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Recreation Assistant in Conway, AR
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I have been working at University of Central Arkansas part-time for more than 3 years

            Pros

            Your hours are very flexible. Ideal for students.

            Cons

            Dealing with and picking up after some students who dont care.

            University of Central Arkansas2018-10-29
          • "Adjunct Instructor"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Doesn't Recommend
            Neutral Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I worked at University of Central Arkansas full-time for more than 10 years

            Pros

            The retirement and vacation time are great. It's very hard to find an employer with a match of 10%.

            Cons

            It varies by department, but most are run largely on cronyism and if you weren't in the right frat or sorority with the right people, at the right university (which is U of A -all other universities are irrelevant here), your hopes of advancement are severely hindered. Again - it varies by department and division, but I would say, this uni, more than any other I've worked for, is all about brutal politics. It can be a...

            Show More

            Advice to Management

            Fire every department head and start over from the ground up.

            University of Central Arkansas2018-08-07
          • "Graduate Teaching Assistant"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at University of Central Arkansas full-time

            Pros

            Great resources, including facilities and faculty and staff.

            Cons

            While the pay was consistent with state averages, it was low for the expectations of the position.

            University of Central Arkansas2018-07-22
          • "Library was making good strides"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Library Technician in Conway, AR
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I worked at University of Central Arkansas full-time for more than 3 years

            Pros

            Great benefits, awesome environment, beautiful campus.

            Cons

            Low, low, low, low compensation.

            University of Central Arkansas2018-07-05
          • "Research Analyst"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at University of Central Arkansas full-time

            Pros

            Wonderful place to work! Great benefits like tuition discount and health care

            Cons

            Can be difficult to advance

            University of Central Arkansas2018-06-09
          Found 70 reviews