KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

University of Chicago Press

Is this your company?

University of Chicago Press

Add a Review

University of Chicago Press Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 of over 31 reviews

3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great working environment

    Sep 18, 2021 - Acquisitions Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Inclusive environment, flexible schedule, and compassionate/supportive management

    Cons

    Not much, really enjoyed working here during undergrad

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Run away. Worst place I've ever worked.

    Sep 12, 2021 - Editorial 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    May potentially impress other faux intellectuals?

    Cons

    How is this place still standing? Everyone who works here hates it and one another. In my years of employment, I've never seen a sadder employer. Or employees. What a waste. If you want to actually work in publishing, steer clear of this nonsense.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee

    For the greater good

    Mar 22, 2021 - Member Of Technical Staff in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    An innovative, fair, and diverse place to work.

    Cons

    Pay somewhat lower than contemporary private sector.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Not Much Room for Advancement

    Nov 4, 2020 - Exhibits Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours, casual environment, great health benefits

    Cons

    Besides cost of living raises pay raises only come with title change, not much room for advancement, poor communication between divisions/departments

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Collegial environment with interesting and meaningful work, but low pay and hard to advance

    May 28, 2020 - Managing Editor in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits, fulfilling and important work, intelligent coworkers, good life/work balance

    Cons

    Low pay, very rare to receive a bonus, no path for advancement

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A Pleasant Work Environment

    May 18, 2019 - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Day to day culture and grind -Pleasant and quiet work floor -Responsive superiors

    Cons

    -Crunch time during end of fiscal quarters -Depth of certain projects

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Toxic work environment

    Aug 15, 2016 - Editor in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The university itself has good benefits. That's the only positive I can come up with.

    Cons

    Certain people on the 4th floor are allowed to bully coworkers, and they get away with it with no consequences. It almost seems encouraged. I doubt that if anyone ever went to HR anything would be even done, but it is a disgusting, toxic work environment. Maybe UChicago's lawyers would like to hear about it? Also, you can expect more layoffs, no promotions, and 2-3% raises, if you get any at all. The work environment is filthy and hot because management cannot afford to pay the cleaning staff or turn on the a/c. It seems like OSHA should know about this. The bathrooms are always gross. The trash is emptied 1x a week. You have to pick up your own mail from the mailroom. Giant stacks of paper are routed by hand and everything takes weeks to get done. I'm surprised they aren't still using typewriters and mimeograph machines. It's like they're terrified of technology.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Coworkers are great! Employer overall subpar.

    Jan 15, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers are witty and smart. There are fun annual events like a chili cookoff. There is a coffee club and an annual gift of free books published by the press.

    Cons

    The area is not safe to walk through at night. The salaries are low. The pension plan is not as good as other companies offer. The middle administration is collaborative and friendly but the upper administration is hostile, evasive, and petty. Good employees are not valued over cheaper unskilled employees by management. It's a small town where everyone knows everything about everyone and it's hard to keep things confidential.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee

    A great learning experience for a student

    Sep 13, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Intelligent and friendly coworkers, strong focus on high-quality books. As a student employee, I had many opportunities to grow past my original job description; I learned a lot about publishing.

    Cons

    Can't think of any, really. Maybe if you're not into cubicles you'll be unhappy with the environment (though plenty of staff members have offices). Also, though I was very close with my supervisors, I didn't interact with many other members of the press, which seems less than ideal—but that may have just been a function of my having been a part-time student employee.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Wonderful work study position

    Sep 3, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was a Master's student at U Chicago and worked in one of the student assistant positions. I had an interest in publishing, and working at the UCP gave me not only an incredible education on what the industry was like but also equipped me with skills that I was able to develop after I graduated.

    Cons

    Networking with staff was difficult at times, and there weren't many options to explore possible employment there after graduation.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews

Popular Careers with University of Chicago Press Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at University of Chicago Press? Share Your Experiences

University of Chicago Press logo
or