University of Colorado Denver Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Colorado Denver Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 435 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
University of Colorado Denver CEO Don Elliman
Don Elliman
71 Ratings
Pros
  • "They offer great benefits that include a lot of paid time off(in 37 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, flexible hours, good pay(in 36 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours for somewhat low pay(in 17 reviews)

  • "enjoyed everything about tutoring in UCD so no cons at this moment(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work-study position in the admissions office."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Admissions Operations Student Assistant 

    I worked at University of Colorado Denver part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Informative and hands-on experience through the application process. Everyone is welcoming, super helpful, and I built a lot of great friendships with my coworkers.

    Cons

    The workload in the operations team can become a little overwhelming depending on the season if team is missing members, which happens rarely.

    University of Colorado Denver2019-05-23
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part-Time Lecturer in Denver, CO

    I have been working at University of Colorado Denver part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good environment for working and great experience

    Cons

    there is no cons about the job

    University of Colorado Denver2019-09-16
  3. "Good networking opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Post Doc in Denver, CO

    I have been working at University of Colorado Denver full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good opportunities to make government and industry contacts.

    Cons

    Smaller, lesser known school may hinder you.

    University of Colorado Denver2019-09-16
  4. "Only a stepping stone job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professional Research Assistant in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Colorado Denver full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great vacation/sick leave, 10% contribution by university into your retirement, tuition benefit, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Low pay (be expected to start at very low end of range) and advancement opportunities are extremely limited. Raises are few and far between. You have to pay for parking (as high as $97 per month). Culture needs improvement. No loyalty to lab staff. You are replaceable.

    Advice to Management

    There should be an option to cash out vacation time to help boost take home pay. Salaries are not competitive with the Denver market. The salary bands are very misleading. There is division amongst PI/Admin and lab staff.

    University of Colorado Denver2019-09-20
  5. "good support system"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Scientist/Instructor 

    I have been working at University of Colorado Denver full-time

    Pros

    collaborative researchers, good core resources

    Cons

    success highly dependent on PI

    University of Colorado Denver2019-08-26
  6. "We can learn many things under your professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at University of Colorado Denver full-time

    Pros

    A great asset for your skill set

    Cons

    Some times it can be stressful

    University of Colorado Denver2019-08-26
  7. "Great benefits, good people at my level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Aid Advisor 

    I have been working at University of Colorado Denver full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My coworkers who are my peers overall get along great and it makes for a fun atmosphere. We are also compensated well with benefits and PTO.

    Cons

    There seems to be a lack of communication from the leaders to the "Entry-level" employees and it feels like a lack of any encouragement.

    University of Colorado Denver2019-09-01
  8. "University of Colorado"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Research Assistant 

    I have been working at University of Colorado Denver full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great benefits - PTO, parental leave, dental, etc. - retirement is outstanding

    Cons

    not given the title that matches the work i am doing

    University of Colorado Denver2019-07-27
  9. "Great team and benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Desk Professional in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Colorado Denver full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great PTO and sick time - Good benefits - Collaborative team and work

    Cons

    - Pay could be better - The "business" of public universities

    University of Colorado Denver2019-07-24
  10. "PRA position at AMC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Research Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at University of Colorado Denver full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Their flexibility with scheduling

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunities for advancement unless you actually leave your job and apply elsewhere

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent with income and benefits because overall income is not great but many think that the salary evens out to be a good income with including the benefits

    University of Colorado Denver2019-07-27
Found 435 reviews