University of Colorado Reviews

Updated May 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
89%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
University of Colorado President Mark Kennedy
Mark Kennedy
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, not just health insurance but also discounted events(in 40 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, potential opportunities to grow(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, low opportunity for advancement(in 16 reviews)

  • "Salaries do not match living cost in Boulder(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Colorado full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Close to mountains, collaborative faculty

    Cons

    Research-intensive, cut-throat, dependent on funding from NIH

    University of Colorado2020-05-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Felt like high school..."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant I in Aurora, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Colorado part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked in the dental school. The dental students were nice, and so were the dental school professors. All facets worked pretty cohesively (janitorial, students, building maintenance, professors) to get things done and to keep the operation running smoothly.

    Cons

    GOSSIP, GOSSIP, GOSSIP. The coordinators and some of the admin staff were full of gossip. It was messy. All I wanted to do was go to work and do my job, but they tried to rope me into talking about others constantly. Coordinators tried to spy on other staff to determine who might be leaving (if they didn't like them), and talked behind that persons back. Coordinators talked about the dental students in a negative light (but they're students, they are LEARNING!). I had to get out of there. The environment was toxic and if your supervisor didn't like you they would try to get you moved to a different team. Also, there is no opportunity for advancement. Once you have reached the top rung of Admin assistant, you can only go to a coordinator position, and if you don't want that, there is no advancement for you.

    Continue reading
    University of Colorado2020-05-16
  3. "A nice university."

    4.0
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Boulder, CO

    I worked at University of Colorado part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful location, good academic environment.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, crowded town, party school.

    University of Colorado2020-05-11
  4. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Aurora, CO

    I worked at University of Colorado full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work and pleasure to work with talented scientists

    Cons

    Low pay and job security

    University of Colorado2020-05-10
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant 

    I have been working at University of Colorado part-time

    Pros

    Opportunity, flexible work hours, standard pay

    Cons

    cannot work more than 20hr a week as student

    University of Colorado2020-05-05
  6. "Large university, huge variation, how you get treated really depends on your direct supervisor"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Denver, CO

    I have been working at University of Colorado full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Totally dependent on supervisor, my job is very flexible but that is not the same across departments/PIs etc

    Cons

    They don't give postdocs retirement, not clear why.

    University of Colorado2020-05-05
  7. "Supporting all of Colorado"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Annual Giving Coordinator in Denver, CO

    I have been working at University of Colorado full-time

    Pros

    - Flexible managers - Great benefits - Mission driven

    Cons

    Working in a large system lends itself to complexities that often stem from multiple campuses being involved.

    University of Colorado2020-04-07
  8. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Colorado part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People, experience, network, and location

    Cons

    That I couldn't stay longer!

    University of Colorado2020-03-10
  9. "Same old"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Professional Research Assistant in Aurora, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Colorado full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, not just health insurance but also discounted events

    Cons

    It's a university and so getting raises is difficult and really can happen at 2 specific times a year.

    University of Colorado2020-03-15
  10. "Excellent Employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Colorado full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Corporate structure, resources, benefits, support, supervision.

    Cons

    Sometimes salary and increases are based on a predetermined structure which his hard to negotiate.

    University of Colorado2020-02-13
Found 398 reviews