University of Delaware Graduate Student Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Delaware Graduate Student Reviews

Updated Aug 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
University of Delaware President Dennis Assanis (no image)
Dennis Assanis
2 Ratings
  1. "Great place for Chemical Engineering PhD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student 

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I received a stipend increase because I received an NSF Fellowship. Lots of opportunities for networking in industry, which has proven extremely helpful in finding a job. The grad student community here is fantastic.

    Cons

    A lot of the big professors have left and Newark can get old.

    Continue reading
    University of Delaware2014-06-11
  2. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Location, People, Collaborations, If you get a good adviser, your work-life balance is good.

    Cons

    Don't care about graduate students. Everything is aimed at undergrads. Fees

    University of Delaware2014-04-14
  3. "As a graduate student in the Biology department, I really liked the UD Department of Biological Sciences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Program structure, Faculty and Staff

    Cons

    Stipend is lower than some other programs

    University of Delaware2014-01-25
  4. "Really nice university although the Lewes campus is small."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student in Lewes, DE
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time

    Pros

    I spent my time at the Lewes campus and it was a bit limiting after several years of graduate study. The community is very small on this campus, but they do have their own research vessels which makes sampling the bay water easy. The University itself is fair.

    Cons

    For graduate students the benefits are almost non-existent, but that is to be expected for students. The only place to live on-campus is Daiber student housing and it's not conducive to people of all ages, mostly college age kids.

    University of Delaware2013-03-21
  5. "Exciting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    learning knowledge, good location, campus culture

    Cons

    not competitive enough, need more front-edge vision

    University of Delaware2013-01-11
  6. "A good place to get a PhD."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graduate Student in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware

    Pros

    Career service center is helpful. They have a good study-abroad program. Graduate students can also benefit from that. individual satisfaction depends on your advisor. Chemical engineering is definitely the best program in the university. Location is wonderful. There is a good Higher Education Teaching program if you would like to teach in a liberty/art college in the future.

    Cons

    University is not so supportive for graduate students, especially for housing and parking. The parking becomes horrible beginning this year.

    Continue reading
    University of Delaware2010-09-22
  7. "good place for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graduate Student in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware

    Pros

    student to faculty ratio is good... quality research faculty.. oppurtunuties given to travel to conferences and interact with other researchers is good

    Cons

    small department so the range of research areas is small limited course work no exciting courses for graduate studen

    Continue reading
    University of Delaware2010-05-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews