University of Delaware Postdoctoral Researcher Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Postdoctoral Researcher

University of Delaware Postdoctoral Researcher Reviews

Updated May 20, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
University of Delaware President Dennis Assanis (no image)
Dennis Assanis
1 Rating
  1. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good organization, responsible researchers, nice location.

    Cons

    A little expensive to live, especially for renting apartments

    University of Delaware2017-09-04
  2. "Postdoctoral researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher 

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A wonderful place to work and learn

    Cons

    Sometimes feels like working alone

    University of Delaware2018-05-21
  3. "Excellent working place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher in Newark, DE
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, good benefits, close to big cities (DC, Baltimore, New York)

    Cons

    none (really like University of Delaware)

    Advice to Management

    none

    University of Delaware2017-01-12
  4. "postdoctoral research scholar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Newark, DE

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time

    Pros

    good work environment and friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    low salary, small college town

    University of Delaware2016-02-21
  5. "Nice Work Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working schedule; nice colleagues; great medical insurance; opportunities to coordinate with people from other great places

    Cons

    very few visitors from other universities or research institutions come here to present their work; no chances for postdoc's to teach classes

    Advice to Management

    maybe organize some events for postdoc's to develop their future career would be a great plus

    University of Delaware2016-01-07
  6. "Postdoctoral Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Postdoctoral Researcher 

    I have been working at University of Delaware for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay for postdocs, though this will depend on the lab/department. Great medical and retirement benefits.

    Cons

    No real cons to speak of.

    University of Delaware2015-10-22
  7. "Ambitious for a smaller university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Postdoctoral Researcher in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware for more than a year

    Pros

    The research efforts I have seen here are really quite ambitious for what I assumed was a smaller university. Everyone works hard and holds themselves to a high standard, and that pushes you to strive for higher standards as well.

    Cons

    The area is a bit isolated, and has the feel of a small college town. Philadelphia and Baltimore are each about an hour away, but Newark itself has not much to do after work.

    Advice to Management

    I think more could be done to promote interdisciplinary research across departments. Additionally, support is a bit lacking for new employees. There are lots of tours/introductions for new students, but I had to discover most of the services available on my own.

    University of Delaware2015-06-22
  8. "Physics Postdoc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Delaware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits include tuition-free courses for full time employees. You can work and at the same time expand your expertise to move to a real job.

    Cons

    As in every university environment, there isn't much possibility to grow your career.

    University of Delaware2014-10-18
  9. "Postdoctoral Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher in Newark, DE

    I worked at University of Delaware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You have the chance to advance your career to an assistant professor if you have very good publication record and very good preliminary data to apply grant

    Cons

    You may get stuck in a tough project and publish little. Then you will little change to advance to the next level.

    University of Delaware2014-09-18
  10. "UD is a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    For a postdoc, research is high quality, access to all the necessary resources, salary is plenty to live on, 401k matching is unheard of, plenty to do in surrounding areas on holidays/weekends

    Cons

    Parts of surrounding area are not necessarily safe, but that information is readily available and the areas can easily be avoided

    Advice to Management

    Hire some faculty that focus on the education of the students, not necessarily on their research (which is what ultimately leads to promotions in most cases)

    University of Delaware2014-07-07
Found 17 reviews