University of Delaware Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Delaware Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
University of Delaware President Dennis Assanis (no image)
Dennis Assanis
71 Ratings
  1. "Great benefits, bad pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Delaware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Depending on what department, it can be a great working environment

    Cons

    Pay is not great, staff is treated as unimportant

    University of Delaware2019-07-09
  2. "There are many opportunities for great jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Extension Educator in Newark, DE
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Delaware part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Community of coworkers is pretty tight-knit.

    Cons

    Parking is a major issue - there are few lots and employees have to pay to park (it isn't cheap).

    University of Delaware2019-06-26
  3. "Growing University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Professor in Newark, DE

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    With the purchase of the old car plant across from the sports complex, now called the "Star Campus", UD is in expansion mode. They are also leasing this space to companies to develop on. Nice benefits with tuition remission.

    Cons

    Expensive parking, although typical for a large University.

    University of Delaware2019-06-13
  4. "Great school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I worked at University of Delaware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Full Tuition Medical Benefits Increase Fringe per year

    Cons

    Low salary pay for students

    University of Delaware2019-06-06
  5. "Good place to study"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Newark, DE
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great professors. Nice colleagues.

    Cons

    Nothing bad, the expectation is high.

    University of Delaware2019-05-21
  6. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant 

    I have been working at University of Delaware part-time

    Pros

    Lot of learning and hands-on experience

    Cons

    Tough to balance with school

    University of Delaware2019-05-20
  7. "Graduate student at UD MSEG."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The materials science department is a lovely place to work in.

    Cons

    The department is still growing, and would benefit tremendously if given more space and resources from the college.

    University of Delaware2019-05-16
  8. "A good place to learn new stuffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I am pursuing a PhD during the last five years and research assistant is a part-time job. The payment is okay for student and the experience here highly depend on your supervisor.

    Cons

    Most of the time the work is intense and you need to spend some extra time if you want to finish your project before due.

    University of Delaware2019-05-30
  9. "Great Environment to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineering Peer Leader 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy work and good pay

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    University of Delaware2019-04-28
  10. "Graduate Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I worked at University of Delaware part-time

    Pros

    Do research, get an okay stipend + 100% tuition

    Cons

    no spring break, except if your advisor approves.

    University of Delaware2019-04-26
Found 540 reviews