University of Delaware "graduate students" Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Delaware Employee Reviews about "graduate students"

Updated Jan 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
University of Delaware President Dennis Assanis (no image)
Dennis Assanis
82 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Graduate students are often given limited vacation days and expected to work holidays for no extra pay(in 23 reviews)

  • "Newark Delaware is not the greatest place to live(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "graduate students"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Highly Reccommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time

    Pros

    This department is wonderful, very helpful for the graduate students.

    Cons

    The campus is very busy, there's a lot of students, but that's not the fault of the department.

    University of Delaware2019-01-09
  2. "Grad School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Graduate Research Assistant in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great, well rounded university. You can receive a valuable education, while receiving invaluable experience in many of their research laboratories.

    Cons

    Like most graduate students, I feel over worked and under paid but that's not new!

    Advice to Management

    Help your students get a job after graduation by having them to an extensive search of the job market when they first start.

    University of Delaware2017-07-12
  3. "Graduate student perspective"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time

    Pros

    I've really enjoyed my graduate school experience at the University of Delaware. I feel as if there is a good focus of research at the institution and a lot of different opportunities.

    Cons

    One downside as a graduate student is that we are sometimes isolated from the undergraduate population and the opportunities presented to them are different than those presented to the graduate students.

    University of Delaware2017-05-01
  4. "Graduate Student at UD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Fellow in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    UD offers excellent benefits to their graduate students.

    Cons

    The bureaucracy can be difficult to navigate. Graduate students are often given limited vacation days and expected to work holidays for no extra pay.

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be stronger administrative support for graduate students.

    University of Delaware2017-03-21
  5. "Graduate Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware

    Pros

    Very welcoming university and a lot of resources for graduate students

    Cons

    Some departments may not have open communication lines.

    University of Delaware2016-10-09
  6. "Definitely recommended if you have a great research project waiting for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Newark, DE

    I worked at University of Delaware full-time

    Pros

    Stipend is higher than most other research universities, great health plan for graduate students on contract

    Cons

    Semester fees are around $500 and go towards services that few grad students use.

    University of Delaware2016-09-22
  7. "Grauate Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Newark, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the research facilities are new and comparable to top schools; strong research programs in Chemical Engineering, Physical Therapy etc.; good location for people in Statistics, Finance and Chemistry/Chemical Engineering

    Cons

    a lot of tenured professors are not doing their jobs mentoring graduate students, or agile or brave to start new research areas; high school cost for graduate students even with stipend from research funding; a lot of miscellaneous fees plus expensive parking permit graduate students have to pay

    University of Delaware2016-07-22
  8. "Graduate Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I have been working at University of Delaware

    Pros

    Great place to be an engineering graduate student. The research facilities are top-notch. Plenty of opportunity for multi-disciplinary interactions.

    Cons

    No serious complaints as a graduate student. Each department has its nuances, but professors are almost always ready and willing to address issues and aid students.

    University of Delaware2016-04-28
  9. "Good place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    PhD Graduate Student in Newark, DE

    I have been working at University of Delaware

    Pros

    Great campus, plenty of resources for graduate students

    Cons

    Shuttle bus service could be improved on campus

    University of Delaware2016-03-29
  10. "Decent Environment for Graduate Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at University of Delaware

    Pros

    Health Insurance plan for students is excellent. Ample and affordable parking. Pay varies by department and project.

    Cons

    Nothing to complain about. It's what you'd expect as a graduate student.

    University of Delaware2016-03-14
Found 29 reviews