University of Delaware "newark" Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Delaware Reviews

Updated Jul 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
93%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
University of Delaware President Dennis Assanis (no image)
Dennis Assanis
84 Ratings
  1. "High level university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Professor in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High quality colleagues. Good reputation. Good resources. International students and staff. Beautiful campus. A lot of recreation areas. Excellent geographic location.

    Cons

    No much things to do in Newark The city is not well connected to its neighboring cities. You definitely need a car to have a decent life here.

    University of Delaware2014-08-02
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate II in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great health benefits, very good retirement matching, relaxed atmosphere, nice place to live in. The research enviorement at UD is great, with a lot of very interesting opportunities, and good access to equipment.

    Cons

    University pay for research staff not exactly competitive with industrial pay. The recent 'powerplant' fiasco has shown how much the university really values it's commitment to be a good neighbor to the town of Newark. If you live IN Newark, the students can be a bit of a hassle (college town). Living outside of Newark can put you in the middle of suburban hell...

    Continue reading
    University of Delaware2014-06-05
  3. "Great place for Chemical Engineering PhD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student 

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I received a stipend increase because I received an NSF Fellowship. Lots of opportunities for networking in industry, which has proven extremely helpful in finding a job. The grad student community here is fantastic.

    Cons

    A lot of the big professors have left and Newark can get old.

    Continue reading
    University of Delaware2014-06-11
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Lousy leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Delaware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Medial and 401(k) benefits are hard to beat.

    Cons

    There certainly are many capable faculty and staff at UD, but several administrators can be petty and vindictive. Higher education is decidedly low on their list of priorities. They focus instead on building turf, acquiring personal perks, and scoring political points. Self-interest, boorish and unethical behavior, poor treatment of staff, failure to recognize their own shortcomings as supervisors, and unbridled vanity often pass as "leadership." Administrators constantly snipe at each other and engage in turf battles, resulting in high employee turnover and low faculty and staff morale. My boss often bragged about her many petty arguments with other university administrators, oblivious to her own childishness. She publicly touted the importance of collaboration and teamwork while working behind the scenes to sabotage others’ efforts. More than once, my boss slammed the phone on reporters who dared to ask legitimate questions about her decisions and actions affecting the local community. I saw UD administrators bully their own and others' staffs. They routinely break university policies knowing they won’t be held accountable. They cozy up to local community leaders and residents in public while expressing contempt in private—especially when those residents share concerns about UD activities affecting their communities. Community concerns are mocked behind closed doors. The residents of Newark and Lewes should always remain vigilant, as UD administrators won't hesitate to engage in political tricks and regulatory runarounds to get what they want. No matter what academic degrees they hold, some people are simply not good leaders. Unfortunately at the University of Delaware, many sit at the highest levels of administration.

    Continue reading
    University of Delaware2014-03-09
  5. "UD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at University of Delaware

    Pros

    great place to work, but live in Philly

    Cons

    living in Newark; recommend living in Philly

    University of Delaware2013-11-11
  6. "UD is a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher in Newark, DE

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    UD has a beautiful campus and offers great benefits to postdocs (who are classified as staff), including a free staff gym, parking near campus buildings, tuition benefits, and employer contributions to retirement accounts.

    Cons

    My only complaint is that I can't work here longer, since UD puts a 3 year limit on postdoc contracts. Also, Newark, DE is not a particularly exciting place to live!

    University of Delaware2013-03-12
  7. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware

    Pros

    University of Delaware has an amazing Mechanical Engineering Program. The teachers are great and so are the schools resources, especially the free ones.

    Cons

    Living in Newark can be a pain. It seems like they do not like the students, and they ticket like crazy. Not to mention 25 cents only gets you 12 minutes of parking time.

    Continue reading
    University of Delaware2011-10-15
  8. "Great intellectual community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research Analyst in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware

    Pros

    intellectual community and beautiful campus

    Cons

    newark , Delaware is not a very interesting place to live

    Continue reading
    University of Delaware2009-01-07
  9. "Good research experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at University of Delaware part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good research experience. Very convenient to go everywhere.

    Cons

    None. I love Newark and UD.

    University of Delaware2019-07-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 19 reviews