University of Delaware "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Delaware Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Oct 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
University of Delaware President Dennis Assanis (no image)
Dennis Assanis
82 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Graduate students are often given limited vacation days and expected to work holidays for no extra pay(in 23 reviews)

  • "Newark Delaware is not the greatest place to live(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Student Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Delaware part-time

    Pros

    Easy going work environment, and friendly staff.

    Cons

    Lower pay than other helpdesk positions.

    University of Delaware2018-12-24
  2. "Great place to work, fair pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Delaware part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed, positive, work environment, reasonable workload

    Cons

    Some days there is little actual work to do and can get boring

    University of Delaware2019-10-07
  3. "Great benefits, bad pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Delaware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Depending on what department, it can be a great working environment

    Cons

    Pay is not great, staff is treated as unimportant

    University of Delaware2019-07-09
  4. "Research Associate II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate II in Newark, DE
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment, good benefits and vacation time.

    Cons

    Salary is low for what I consider standard for my skill set. Promotion process is difficult and not well executed

    University of Delaware2018-10-17
  5. "Building Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Building Manager in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Delaware part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing and supportive work environment. The people with whom I had the pleasure of working felt like family to me. I couldn't have asked for a better professional experience while attending classes.

    Cons

    The Hen Zone was renovated after I graduated and left Delaware, and I wish they had done so sooner, because I spent long periods of time in that desolate dungeon.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    University of Delaware2018-09-02
  6. "Blue Hen Application Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Blue Hen Applications Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great leadership, easy to learn Slate and UDSIS, and relaxed work environment

    Cons

    Little room for personal growth, restrictive work shours

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    University of Delaware2018-04-05
  7. "Intramural Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at University of Delaware

    Pros

    Flexible hours and easy work environment

    Cons

    Very low pay and sometimes limited hours

    Advice to Management

    Pay for staff trainings

    University of Delaware2018-03-09
  8. "Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Teaching Assistant in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly working environment, the faculty provide detailed help in guiding graduate assistant in their work.

    Cons

    Nothing really to complain about.

    University of Delaware2018-01-17
  9. "Graduate Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time

    Pros

    General graduate student working environment. Nothing too bad.

    Cons

    Payment is relatively low, and seems has not been increased for long time.

    University of Delaware2018-01-13
  10. "PhD Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Delaware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good facilities, great work environment, really diverse and dynamic group.

    Cons

    Anything to complain about it.

    University of Delaware2017-08-18
Found 38 reviews