University of Durham Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Durham Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 119 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
University of Durham CEO Anne Galbraith (no image)
Anne Galbraith
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not all lectures were recorded, annoying for revision purposes(in 6 reviews)

  • "Peer-pressure, difficult to maintain work-life balance(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Durham

    Pros

    Wonderful staff Great personal development, mentors, and support They have really created a great little community

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    University of Durham2015-04-10
  2. "Good university, pretty but small city"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Durham full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good infrastructure, beautiful city, good academics

    Cons

    Very strong hierarchy, more secrecy than I was used to for a US institution

    University of Durham2018-01-06
  3. "Research Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Durham part-time

    Pros

    Great experience, good opportunity to get an understanding of the academic world

    Cons

    Disorganized, and you are largely left alone without much clear guidance

    University of Durham2017-12-01
  4. "Postdoctoral Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Durham full-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues and lecture facilities

    Cons

    There are very research labs for research

    University of Durham2017-03-19
  5. "Elitest but beautiful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Durham full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    High academic quality. You need to be good to work here and the pressure is on to produce quality. It's great to be amongst such clever colleagues.

    Cons

    Not much social diversity. A university for rich kids.

    Advice to Management

    Management is good. They pander to equality issues but really this is a university for the privileged.

    University of Durham2014-01-27
  6. "Very good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Student 

    I have been working at University of Durham full-time

    Pros

    Quality teaching, facilities, and extra-curricular options

    Cons

    Library has too few spaces per student, resulting in overcrowding

    University of Durham2019-10-14
  7. "Lots of extracurricular training and interaction with students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Durham full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Durham encourages you to develop personally as well as academically and provides many (optional) helpful training sessions throughout the year on topics such as how to referee a paper, writing job applications, speed reading, first aid, etc. In the science faculty postdocs were obliged to teach, which for me was a pro although for other may be a con. The college communities are very welcoming and a great way... to meet people, even for staff members. In my experience the working environment (in my department at least) was always friendly and welcoming.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some inefficiency in the management and running of the general university. Getting things through administration could sometimes take a while (as with many big employers).

    University of Durham2019-10-02
  8. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student 

    I have been working at University of Durham full-time

    Pros

    Good fun, good times yeh

    Cons

    Hard work stressful cold boring

    University of Durham2019-09-30
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow 

    I worked at University of Durham full-time

    Pros

    Research intensive environment for staff

    Cons

    Culture and work life balance. University Management

    University of Durham2019-10-09
  10. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 

    I worked at University of Durham part-time

    Pros

    Excellent people, students and programs

    Cons

    They rely too much on adjunct and part time workers

    University of Durham2019-08-24
Found 119 reviews