University of Edinburgh Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Edinburgh Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 415 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Professor Peter Mathieson
39 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "A great place to work as a technician!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Edinburgh part-time

    Pros

    -Competitive pay -Good work/life balance -Great place to gain extra experience as an undergraduate

    Cons

    -If you end up in a lab of some crazy PI, you're gonna have a bad time -Might be tough to gain new opportunities if you don't want to pursue a higher degree

    University of Edinburgh2019-01-21
  2. "Lecturer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Edinburgh full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, beautiful city, good benefits.

    Cons

    Small pay, can be stressful sometimes.

    University of Edinburgh2018-12-01
  3. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Edinburgh full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Resources and Highly Knowledgeable Faculty

    Cons

    Inaccurate goals for projects and research

    University of Edinburgh2018-10-03
  4. "International Relations student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Edinburgh full-time

    Pros

    meet lots of smart people and in a motivating learning environment. Main library is fantastic and online resources are great.

    Cons

    VERY little contact time and few graded assignments. Many professors seem like teaching is their side job and are much more focused on their own research.

    Advice to Management

    pay more attention to students and create more teaching time.

    University of Edinburgh2018-09-18
  5. "Good facilities, nice benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Edinburgh full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Modern building Good atmosphere High quality output of the departement Good deep learning opportunities

    Cons

    The university could have more events that introduce you to other departements

    University of Edinburgh2018-06-27
  6. "Lecturer/ Early Career Scientific Track fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lecturer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Edinburgh full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent mentorship (formal program) and support for junior faculty. Collaborative environment. Focus on work life balance and gender equality. High level science and top line equipment.

    Cons

    Lack of transparency for criteria for promotion to Reader. However from observations of others' reviews it would seem that there is the expectation to get a 5 year fellowship (~1 million) and high impact senior author paper within 5 years to get a permanent position. Lower range publications not considered as measure of success because count less towards REF assessment.

    University of Edinburgh2017-11-26
  7. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Edinburgh

    Pros

    research, flexibility, freedom, cutting-edge, seminars

    Cons

    Salary is fairly low compared to industry

    University of Edinburgh2017-10-20
  8. "Academic Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Tutor, Supervisor in Edinburgh, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Edinburgh for more than 5 years

    Pros

    perfectly organised institution high level of employment security excellent opportunities for career development

    Cons

    cannot think of anything

    University of Edinburgh2016-03-11
  9. "Excellent experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at University of Edinburgh for less than a year

    Pros

    Was career development intern (undergraduate) with the school of physics and astronomy. - Very expert mentors - World-class research environment - Friendly colleagues

    Cons

    - Staff could be hard to pin down to talk with, especially more senior staff - No office/desk space available

    Advice to Management

    To encourage contact with staff and peers and help interns be far more productive, make some space for them to work with the main research group!

    University of Edinburgh2016-01-05
  10. "Edinburgh intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at University of Edinburgh

    Pros

    Fantastic, helpful faculty. Great modern facilities. Very open, always lots of seminars, workshops, and other events. I learned a lot, really a great place to intern.

    Cons

    None really, I suppose Edinburgh isn't the biggest of cities, but it has enough of everything I'd say.

    University of Edinburgh2015-12-09
Found 415 reviews