University of Exeter Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Exeter Reviews

Updated 20 de Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
University of Exeter CEO Sir Steve Smith (no image)
Sir Steve Smith
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working around student contact hrs(in 13 reviews)

  • "Good pay for professional services staff(in 10 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Student Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glenmoore, PA

    I worked at University of Exeter part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helpful staff, flexible schedules, great pay. This is a great way to meet people from all over the UK and the world, and to have fun while getting paid a pretty decent wage.

    Cons

    Oftentimes it can be boring, and there will be too many of you working any particular event. Additionally, traveling to jobs can be a hassle, specifically when it would be easiest to take a car rather than a train or bus.

    Advice to Management

    Increase the opportunities for student ambassadors, but also be more cognizant of when you're overstaffing various events.

    University of Exeter2015-10-21
  2. "No career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Exeter full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Beautiful environment Good working conditions and staff facilities

    Cons

    Impossible to progress your career

    Advice to Management

    Cut the useless layers of management

    University of Exeter2015-02-05
  3. "Excellent if academia is your thing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Exeter, England

    I have been working at University of Exeter full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As a large top-tier university it's often easy to find the resources or people you need to help overcome challenges.

    Cons

    Continual administration reshuffling and the divided focus between research and teaching can be frustrating.

    University of Exeter2019-11-20
  4. "BSc Business Economics Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student 
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Exeter full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great student community and university culture. Some of its lecturers are fantastic.

    Cons

    Some lecturers seem less qualified to teach. Staff can be disorganised at times

    University of Exeter2019-11-14
  5. "Student- University of Exeter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student 

    I have been working at University of Exeter full-time

    Pros

    Amazing Reputation, strong industry connections

    Cons

    Too little ethnic diversity around campus.

    University of Exeter2019-11-07
  6. "V good University but has some issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Exeter full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great campus. Good environment Generally friendly people

    Cons

    Has been slow to adapt/react to some issues such as BLS scandal which has damaged the university's rep among BAME communities.

    University of Exeter2019-10-28
  7. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Exeter, England

    I have been working at University of Exeter full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good university. it is a Russell group

    Cons

    events in student study spaces are very annoying

    University of Exeter2019-10-28
  8. "My supervisor is awful, most others are just too busy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Exeter, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Exeter full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I received a lot of useful support regarding my terrible supervisor. Flexible hours (on PhD). Nice campus. A lot of great people.

    Cons

    My particular manager is terrible (but that's not the norm, and this person is not getting more students anytime soon - you're pretty safe!). The university management have rationalised away a lot of the administrative staff into one incredibly overworked building, so getting things sorted is a bit of a pain (they're usually very quick if you show up, otherwise you easily get lost in the pile).

    Advice to Management

    Maybe don't get the lowest bidder to design your finance system. Or give outgoing deputy chairs the equivalent of 93 students' tuition fees, on top of the enormous pension

    University of Exeter2019-10-28
  9. "work and life are a balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow 

    I have been working at University of Exeter full-time

    Pros

    work and life are a balance

    Cons

    not too much motivation in research

    University of Exeter2019-10-16
  10. "Multicultural environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Exeter full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice working environment, middle-low working load

    Cons

    Despite the appearance, a vision it's what is really missing. No sense of belonging.

    University of Exeter2019-10-05
Found 140 reviews