University of Hawaii at Manoa Research Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Hawaii at Manoa Research Assistant Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
University of Hawaii at Manoa CEO David Lassner
David Lassner
2 Ratings
  1. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning environment, nice staff, opportunities to join labs

    Cons

    Didn't get much help with career planning even when asked for advice. Relatively unorganized

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-08-19
  2. "RA in Meteorology Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Reasonable health and dental plan.

    Cons

    Low pay. Pay scaled largely determined at the discretion of Researcher.

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-08-15
  3. "Good, and slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Honolulu, HI

    I worked at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    hawaiian style, easy-going, and good weather

    Cons

    too slow; everything goes too slow

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-04-22
  4. "Good Company as a Grad Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoy working with great people!

    Cons

    New payroll system based on being logged into an app is annoying, but I am taking paper checks which I feel is better.

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-02-15
  5. "research assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Academic support from many professors and staffs. Flexible working time and tuition waiver.

    Cons

    The academic advisor is very important for your degree. Loose connecting with your academic advisor could result in negative consequence.

    Advice to Management

    Planning the steps to pursue the degree and reporting to your academic advisor frequently.

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2017-12-24
  6. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research Assistant in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Hawaii at Manoa for more than a year

    Pros

    full tuition coverage, professors are great to work with, benefits

    Cons

    no cons i have noticed

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2016-08-11
  7. "Graduate Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Honolulu, HI
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at University of Hawaii at Manoa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the best reasons for working here include the location and the supportive colleagues that I was working with.

    Cons

    The university had a painfully slow bureaucratic process.

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2015-05-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Hawaii is not a good place for graduate students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are nice, weather is perfect, and you never get bored in town as there is always plenty of fun to do if you're either an indoor or outdoor person. Living in Hawaii gives you a good chance to meet many internationals and make a lot of long lasting friendships as less than half of Hawaii residents are US white persons.

    Cons

    Well, after a while you get lazy because everything is perfect and nothing changes, even weather, as it was going to be. So, I can say Hawaii is a not a good place for long time living of young people graduated from college and want to work hard. There is not many industrial companies and most of openings are withing government, army and tourism.

    Advice to Management

    Please take more care of renovation and maintenance. It's so true that construction costs are pretty high in Aloha State but everywhere not built recently is very old, from maybe 50's or 60's.

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2013-04-02
Found 8 reviews