University of Hawaii at Manoa Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

University of Hawaii at Manoa Reviews

Updated Jan 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
81%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
University of Hawaii at Manoa Interim Chancellor David Lassner
David Lassner
21 Ratings
  1. "Structural Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Here is a friendly and convenient place to work.

    Cons

    The salary at the UH is low compared to the high cost of living

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2020-01-17
  2. "Graduate Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I worked at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and helpful staff, Hawaii weather

    Cons

    salary not consistent with the cost of living

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2020-01-09
  3. "Meaningful work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Faculty Member 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Hawaii at Manoa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very rewarding working with students

    Cons

    Salary does not match the high cost of living.

    Advice to Management

    further support faculty housing

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-11-20
  4. "Good experience for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Technician 
    Recommends

    I worked at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent working environment, accommodates for classes. ITC building is new, secure and clean. Work can be challenging but fulfilling. Student work continues during breaks can be increased to full time at those times. Overall, very satisfied.

    Cons

    Hours start early (7:00) and paid parking, street parking is available but the walk can be long. Pay is low for students to keep operating costs down but 20 hrs a week will suffice to pay for part time tuition with proper budgeting.

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-08-22
  5. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning environment, nice staff, opportunities to join labs

    Cons

    Didn't get much help with career planning even when asked for advice. Relatively unorganized

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-08-19
  6. "Working with the NICE(New Intensive Courses in English) program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Interchanger in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Build up teaching experience with foreign students, meet people from various countries, find out what motivates students to learn English

    Cons

    the hours vary with this program, and it is only offered to students

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-06-25
  7. "From Student to Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Hawaii at Manoa full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They cared about the students.

    Cons

    I don't think I had room for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Help the employees grow in their field.

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-06-24
  8. "Good Company as a Grad Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoy working with great people!

    Cons

    New payroll system based on being logged into an app is annoying, but I am taking paper checks which I feel is better.

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-02-15
  9. "Great starting point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great bosses Potential better opportunities Mid pace work Pay raises every X hours worked a year

    Cons

    Students not so intelligent Faculty and staff can be a handful sometimes Parking

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-01-24
  10. "Excellent Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer Teaching Assistant in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This was an excellent opportunity to view subject material from a different perspective which helped me learn even more going into the position.

    Cons

    Teaching is tough in general, the only con is I wish I had more time to give to it.

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-01-20
Found 154 reviews