University of Hawaii at Manoa Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Hawaii at Manoa Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
84%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
University of Hawaii at Manoa CEO David Lassner
David Lassner
21 Ratings
  1. "Great supervisors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher 

    I have been working at University of Hawaii at Manoa full-time

    Pros

    Excellent faculty and colleagues. Beautiful campus.

    Cons

    Some drama in some departments; finger pointing and blaming. Many--not all-underestimate the intelligence of local students and scholars if they do not have a degree from a brand name university.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people from Hawaii and more people of color. There are many intelligent, qualified people of color and people from Hawaii who could teach here, who have earned their Ph.D.s elsewhere. What message does it send to islander students when all their professors are from abroad?

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-05-05
  2. "Pay issues and lack of training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Lecturer in Honolulu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great area to live in

    Cons

    Frequent pay issues that may take months to fix. Poor treatment of grad students and terrible pay, especially when living expenses are so high.

    Advice to Management

    Take payroll issues seriously.

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-05-13
  3. "Good School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Hawaii at Manoa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flex time, great environment, friendly staff

    Cons

    limited parking, noisy street, smoking

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-04-18
  4. "Friendly, but hectic as resources aren't always available"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 

    I worked at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, faculty, and students

    Cons

    Lack of funding and unionization mean low pay and difficulty conducting lecture/labs

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-04-24
  5. "Good, and slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Honolulu, HI

    I worked at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    hawaiian style, easy-going, and good weather

    Cons

    too slow; everything goes too slow

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-04-22
  6. "Low stress student employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Student Custodian 

    I worked at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic coworkers, caring supervisor, flexible hours

    Cons

    Working in a somewhat undesirable sector made it difficult to find new hires, leaving us constantly understaffed

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-03-13
  7. "Good Company as a Grad Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoy working with great people!

    Cons

    New payroll system based on being logged into an app is annoying, but I am taking paper checks which I feel is better.

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-02-15
  8. "Work in the paradise, but"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher 

    I have been working at University of Hawaii at Manoa full-time

    Pros

    The weather is always nice in Hawaii. Great city and safe environment.

    Cons

    Few opportunities for further promotion. Difficult to compete with people on the mainland.

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-02-06
  9. "good time good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at University of Hawaii at Manoa for less than a year

    Pros

    fun easy cool relaxed good pay

    Cons

    nothing is wrong everything is good

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-02-02
  10. "Great starting point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Hawaii at Manoa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great bosses Potential better opportunities Mid pace work Pay raises every X hours worked a year

    Cons

    Students not so intelligent Faculty and staff can be a handful sometimes Parking

    University of Hawaii at Manoa2019-01-24
Found 150 reviews