University of Helsinki Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Helsinki Reviews

Updated Jan 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
67%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
University of Helsinki Chancellor Thomas Wilhelmsson
Thomas Wilhelmsson
9 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Non-related with the company, but still Finnish weather is difficult(in 5 reviews)

  • "Low salary, not permanent positions, lack of funds is always awailable(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Mathematics researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at University of Helsinki

    Pros

    Great environment, lots of competent people, good financing for research. Nice country. Would recommend for talented people looking to do a PhD.

    Cons

    No cons really, not much to say.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people from north America.

    University of Helsinki2014-12-29
  2. "Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Post Doctoral Fellow in Helsinki, Southern Finland
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Helsinki full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very nice atmosphere over all

    Cons

    Isolation and individualistic approach

    Advice to Management

    Increase interaction, real ones.

    University of Helsinki2019-12-29
  3. "Beware!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - University Lecturer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at University of Helsinki full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I was good in the old days.

    Cons

    The pay is quite low compared to international standards and Helsinki is one of the most expensive cities in the world. I worked there with tenure for 20 years. In 2015 - 2016, the senior management conducted mass frings that were ruled illegal in the summer of 2019. So, there is no tenure any more. People who work there now are afraid of the next round of mass firings so gthere is no freedom of speech or academic freedom.

    Show More
    University of Helsinki2020-01-20
  4. "lecturer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - University Lecturer in Helsinki, Southern Finland
    Recommends

    I worked at University of Helsinki full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Independency, academic freedom, students, colleagues

    Cons

    work amount, salary, nothing else to say

    University of Helsinki2019-12-08
  5. "great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher 

    I have been working at University of Helsinki full-time

    Pros

    Good funding opportunities, good culture, flexibility in working

    Cons

    Research level is not as high as in other bigger countries, but getting better every year.

    University of Helsinki2019-11-16
  6. "Not for everybody"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Researcher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Helsinki full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    the best academic place in Finland, most of the people here are quite smart and some of them are also nice

    Cons

    short-term contracts, financially challenging situation in most workgroups (except for the very top), very bureaucratic and inefficient administration, impossibility for foreigners to reach the inner circles due to language barrier

    Advice to Management

    more flexibility, more lobbying to get better funding, more foreigners into positions of intermediate career stage (3).

    University of Helsinki2019-11-15
  7. "Innovative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - PhD Researcher 

    I worked at University of Helsinki full-time

    Pros

    Flat hierarchy between different stages of researchers

    Cons

    project can be process slow

    University of Helsinki2019-10-22
  8. "Higher education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Associate 

    I worked at University of Helsinki full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great supports. Good organisational preparations.

    Cons

    Fixed-term contract, difficult funding procedures.

    University of Helsinki2019-10-14
  9. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Candidate in Helsinki, Southern Finland

    I have been working at University of Helsinki full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Colleagues, environment, good balance work-private life, many opportunities for training

    Cons

    Not many interactions with industries

    University of Helsinki2019-08-10
  10. "I feel somthing wrong with the system"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - University Researcher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Helsinki full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Equipment is ok, salary is fine, weather is not too bad (or too cold). Most Finns are nice.

    Cons

    Pricey, and the academic environment is not transparent. Difficulty in communications (even both sides speak good English). Horrible PIs

    University of Helsinki2019-07-24
Found 85 reviews