University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System Reviews

Updated May 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System CEO Avijit Ghosh
Avijit Ghosh
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "great benefits and also tuition incentives for employees and their families(in 8 reviews)

  • "teaching hospital, urban environment, good benefits, Union(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "State budget affects patient care(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Wonderful , organization, joyful, experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System

      Pros

      Health, pto and sick, insurance

      Cons

      None, uic is a great company to work for

      University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System2019-05-20
    • "Stressful, messy, redundant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - IT Technical Associate in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - As in any state university jobs, pension, and the ability to study for free/partially paid. - Consistently the same type of work.

      Cons

      - A lot of walking and traveling (involves running around the entire hospital system, clinics are offsite which involves driving) - Tedious work (many issues are resolved easily by Active Directory policies, but they do not implement) - Lack of training/direction (do not expect to be helped) - Involves hospital rooms (expect to wear a hospital gown or protective coverings)

      Advice to Management

      Fix issues remotely, implement group policies to resolve issues. Don't have the same issue happen more than once, because it's very tedious. Replace people with better maintenance.

      University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System2019-05-13
    • "Do not apply"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Tuition benefits for state universities

      Cons

      Pay extremely low High work load Lazy nurses

      Advice to Management

      Pay your people a living wage I can't even pay the rent for a one bedroom with my salary in the city of Chicago with my pay here. I got paid way more at Cook County and had less work load than I do currently here.

      University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System2019-04-16
    • "none"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      teaching hospital, urban environment, good benefits, Union

      Cons

      i dont have anything bad to say

      University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System2018-06-11
    • "Bioinformatic specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System full-time

        Pros

        Great community. Colleagues are friendly

        Cons

        Can not think one right now

        University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System2018-01-30
      • Helpful (1)

        "Working at UIC"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System part-time for more than 10 years

          Pros

          they are very flexible with my schedule

          Cons

          There are clicks on every unit and it's hard sometimes to avoid the drama.

          Advice to Management

          Get rid of the bad apples.

          University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System2017-07-27
        • "Good Work Place"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System part-time

          Pros

          Get to choose the work timings

          Cons

          Dressing professionally is mandatory for Data coordination work.

          University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System2017-07-14
        • Helpful (1)

          "UIHealth Review"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System part-time

          Pros

          Great teamwork and hard working health care professionals.

          Cons

          no downsides to working at UIHealth.

          University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System2017-06-26
        • "Hospital Internship"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - MSW/Mental Health Professional in Chicago, IL

            I worked at University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System for more than 5 years

            Pros

            Working collaboratively with other disciplines to treat the patient.

            Cons

            Can be daunting and/or confusing if you are not familiar with medical terminology.

            University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System2017-05-23
          • Helpful (1)

            "On the decline..."

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Management in Chicago, IL
            Doesn't Recommend
            Negative Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I worked at University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            fun staff activities; prestigious reputation; great benefits; awesome people; good community involvement and opportunities for volunteering.

            Cons

            Poor management; horrible communication; lazy employees; very stressful environment; pension system changes; union contracts take forever to negotiate.

            Advice to Management

            Wise up and start using the disciplinary process to weed out the bad managers who keep hiring lazy employees and doing nothing about it!

            University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System2017-04-14
          Found 50 reviews