University of Illinois at Chicago Student Worker Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Student Worker

University of Illinois at Chicago Student Worker Reviews

Updated Jul 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
University of Illinois at Chicago Chancellor Michael D. Amiridis (no image)
Michael D. Amiridis
1 Rating
  1. "Wellness Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Worker in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Illinois at Chicago part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management is GREAT, welcoming safe family environment, flexible hours.

    Cons

    Pay wasn't all too great

    University of Illinois at Chicago2018-12-27
  2. "Flexible work options"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Worker in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Illinois at Chicago part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    there are lot of best reasons to work at the University of Illinois at Chicago

    Cons

    No disadvantages of working here.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    University of Illinois at Chicago2019-07-25
  3. "Student Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Worker in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Illinois at Chicago part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work Great people

    Cons

    Low stafffing in some departments

    Advice to Management

    Listen to student workers

    University of Illinois at Chicago2017-11-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Copy Center Student-Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Student Worker in Chicago, IL

    I worked at University of Illinois at Chicago

    Pros

    One of the best on-campus jobs. -Machines are easy to operate -Job isn't physically demanding

    Cons

    -Sometimes days are a little slow

    University of Illinois at Chicago2016-06-14
  5. "Great university for student employment. If you get it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student Worker in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Illinois at Chicago

    Pros

    Good for graduates. Lots of places to work in. Nice bosses. Diverse. Flexible hours

    Cons

    Heavy demand for work. Low UG salary. Not much holidays

    University of Illinois at Chicago2016-02-29
  6. "Student Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Worker in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Illinois at Chicago part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work really well with student schedules, so you don't have to worry about changing your schedule for the job if you are a full-time student. Nice Convent location, depending on what department you are place, the job does not require too much work.

    Cons

    A con would be that they do not pay the minimum wage. Sometimes the part-time workers are seen as easily replaceable and most departments have a very high turnover rate.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to students, offer raises to students who have been working for many years. Offer benefits or fun exercises for part-time students as well because they work very hard with little notice.

    University of Illinois at Chicago2015-12-01
  7. "Great location, decent work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Worker in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Illinois at Chicago part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great location World-class university, very diverse Nice people Great transportation options

    Cons

    Some buildings are dated, but in the process of becoming renovated Socialization can be difficult at times Pay could be slightly better

    Advice to Management

    Better communication between departments. Fix the walkways that everyone uses, they sometimes flood easily. Slightly better pay for student workers.

    University of Illinois at Chicago2014-01-26
  8. "Student Jobs are the best if you only need pocket money to get by!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Worker in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Illinois at Chicago part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is an on-campus job so they work with your schedule. Especially since when students are at the mercy of class scheduling. Its nice to get to go to work when you can!

    Cons

    Office politics! Get used to them. Learn how to navigate through them. Learn to be Switzerland as a student worker.

    Advice to Management

    Trust student workers more! We may not have the degrees you have but we aren't dumb either. Chances are we are invested in our education and job!

    University of Illinois at Chicago2013-10-09
Found 8 reviews