University of Illinois at Chicago Visiting Research Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

University of Illinois at Chicago Visiting Research Specialist Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
University of Illinois at Chicago Chancellor Michael D. Amiridis (no image)
Michael D. Amiridis
2 Ratings
  1. "Quality Work, Great Vacation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visiting Research Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Illinois at Chicago full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Can work up to 5 weeks vacation. Typically flexible with schedule.

    Cons

    Hiring process is somewhat slow.

    University of Illinois at Chicago2019-12-11
  2. "Institute for Tuberculosis Research at UIC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visiting Research Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at University of Illinois at Chicago full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great resources Excellent opportunity to work with highly educated and reputable scientists Culturally diverse Friendly work environment Manager advocates advancing education.

    Cons

    No annual salary increase Low base salary No growth opportunity Poor Management - Feedback is lacking and sometimes lengthy meetings (2-3 hours).

    University of Illinois at Chicago2019-11-13
  3. "Great benefits but lower base salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visiting Research Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Illinois at Chicago full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    able to accumulate sick and vacation hours relatively quickly

    Cons

    unable to cash in sick days at end of employment, only vacation days get paid out

    University of Illinois at Chicago2019-08-17
  4. "bureaucratic nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visiting Research Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Illinois at Chicago full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits; Close to green and blue lines; Outstanding faculty

    Cons

    Low pay; Very difficult to get simple things addressed (ie: it support or having a phone line changed or office cleaned); HR is absolutely useless and generally hostile to employees.

    University of Illinois at Chicago2019-06-17
  5. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Visiting Research Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Illinois at Chicago for more than a year

    Pros

    The salary position offers up to 24 days of PTO, 12 sick days, and 10 paid holidays. Fkexible schedule and opportunities to grow withing the workplace and company. Great tuition waiver benefits, CTA, and other perks.

    Cons

    Hard to commute, out of the way. Management is rarely seen. I am not sure if they have an HR.

    University of Illinois at Chicago2019-05-17
  6. "Visiting Research Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Visiting Research Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Illinois at Chicago

    Pros

    Can take University classes tuition free. Limit of two classes per semester. Benefits are excellent and for Academic Professionals there are 24 vacation days per year.

    Cons

    Grant funded programs are 12 month appoint which need to be renewed every year.

    University of Illinois at Chicago2015-08-12
  7. "Poor pay and riddled with Bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visiting Research Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Illinois at Chicago full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My specific grant funded job was great and I had a great boss. My specific unit and my colleagues were amazing and became good friends but working with the actual university was always difficult.

    Cons

    The University and its systems drove me mad with their inefficiency and disregard of employees. They pay very poorly and the non tenured professors recently went on strike due to the absurdly low pay.

    Advice to Management

    Fix the IRB and broken Bureaucracy offices that stifle creative and productivity and pay employees a fair wage commensurate with their education and experience.

    University of Illinois at Chicago2014-04-03
Found 7 reviews