University of Illinois at Chicago "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Illinois at Chicago Reviews

Updated Jan 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
University of Illinois at Chicago Chancellor Michael D. Amiridis (no image)
Michael D. Amiridis
86 Ratings
  1. "Resident Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Illinois at Chicago

    Pros

    Free housing and food Great atmosphere

    Cons

    low pay hard to engage students

    University of Illinois at Chicago2015-11-29
  2. "It was great, not now; not rewarding Faculty who get grants but happy to take your ICR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professor in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Illinois at Chicago full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, has the makings of a great research university that can move upward with proper investment in Faculty research. Teaching schedule is a a little lighter (compared to other 4-yr colleges) for Faculty in order to permit time for undergrad/graduate and post-grad research. We serve the student body by having flexible admission process and support for students in difficulties. We are diverse in culture and diverse learners--I was very proud to be teaching UIC students. Our students are/were the Greatest thing about UIC.

    Show More

    Cons

    Benefits have dwindled and the low pay is grating, realization of how much less benefits (and they cost more) we receive currently compared to 10 yrs ago. UIC is administration heavy compared to other Chicago colleges and Universities. Administrators want Faculty to bring in more research $$$, and then when they do, they lose 57+% to overhead but do they ever fix infrastructure? Heck No (despite having Excellent tradesmen on campus). Administrators want Faculty to bring in more research $$$ then they insist Faculty teach more. Not exactly a recipe for top flight R1 school. Some senior professors who bring in No money do not realize that the UIC motto is not "the beatings will continue until morale improves" re. how they treat junior faculty. Take your research money elsewhere Juniors, you can do it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Bolster sciences with Faculty hires, and have Totally transparent evaluations of Faculty for tenure and promotion. Grants are extremely thin on the ground with record low % funding rates, so help Faculty to get grants; do not make more red tape. UIC is #129 in rank compared to other comparable schools, please get over yourselves re. this promoted nonsense of being in the top schools under 50 years old…we aren't anymore, as of this year. PAULA A MEARES no longer at UIC for quite some time--update Glassdoor.

    Show More
    University of Illinois at Chicago2015-11-03
  3. "Work of RA/TA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Illinois at Chicago part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Close to Chicago downtown, relaxed atmosphere, great people, a lot of females on faculty in Science

    Cons

    Low pay, the Union works poorly and negotiates badly

    University of Illinois at Chicago2015-07-22
  4. "Decent Place to work, if you work for the right people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Illinois at Chicago full-time

    Pros

    good benefits, opportunities to attend lectures

    Cons

    low pay, bureaucracy makes everything difficult. research is rewarding but doesn't pay well

    University of Illinois at Chicago2015-05-14
  5. "UIC Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Administration Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Illinois at Chicago full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, only work 8 hours a day, lots of vacation days

    Cons

    Low pay, little chance to move up, politics run this place

    University of Illinois at Chicago2014-10-28
  6. "Poor pay and riddled with Bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visiting Research Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Illinois at Chicago full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My specific grant funded job was great and I had a great boss. My specific unit and my colleagues were amazing and became good friends but working with the actual university was always difficult.

    Cons

    The University and its systems drove me mad with their inefficiency and disregard of employees. They pay very poorly and the non tenured professors recently went on strike due to the absurdly low pay.

    Advice to Management

    Fix the IRB and broken Bureaucracy offices that stifle creative and productivity and pay employees a fair wage commensurate with their education and experience.

    University of Illinois at Chicago2014-04-03
  7. "wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Illinois at Chicago part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    i learned a lot during my research

    Cons

    it is a low pay

    Advice to Management

    none

    University of Illinois at Chicago2014-03-31
  8. "Mixed Thoughts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Illinois at Chicago part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Convenient, great working environment, respectable, state institution

    Cons

    Low pay, management is rude, state institution,

    Advice to Management

    Try to not talk down as much, the job isn't that important stop acting like it is.

    University of Illinois at Chicago2013-12-06
  9. "research assistant experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at University of Illinois at Chicago full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    tuition wavier practice using data tools

    Cons

    long working hour low pay

    University of Illinois at Chicago2013-08-15
  10. "Very fun but can get boring after a while."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Building Manager in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at University of Illinois at Chicago

    Pros

    Company car while at work Upper management is nice gives you opportunities to utilize skills learned in school nice culture freedom to be yourself.

    Cons

    Low pay People are constantly being noise

    Advice to Management

    give raises more than once a year.

    University of Illinois at Chicago2011-11-10
Found 34 reviews