Cover image for University of Kansas Medical Center
Logo

University of Kansas Medical Center

Is this your company?

University of Kansas Medical Center

Add a Review

University of Kansas Medical Center Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 521 of over 545 reviews
4.1
83% Recommend to a Friend
University of Kansas Medical Center Executive Vice Chancellor Barbara F. Atkinson
83% Approve of CEO

Found 521 of over 545 reviews

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
University of Kansas Medical Center Executive Vice Chancellor Barbara F. Atkinson
Barbara F. Atkinson
136 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

6h

a 

Medical Records

I will be taking over a new team in our call center department at my job this upcoming week. I've been with the company a few years now and something I've noticed is NO ONE uses cameras but I've seen tons of people recommend it for teams. I am thinking of making it a requirement for my new team. I was thinking of starting off with once a week and moving into every other day so that it's not too much change at once. It will only be required for meetings. What does everyone think? Do you do this?

4

4 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The benefits are great and many of the people that I worked with were great. .(in 67 reviews)
  • "I've worked with many great people(in 27 reviews)
  • "The benefits and time off.(in 10 reviews)
  • "Great work life balance in scheduling(in 9 reviews)
  • "Great staff always willing to help!(in 7 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of University of Kansas Medical Center and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company

    Nov 28, 2022 - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They have wonderful Benefits, great flexibility an my co-workers are amazing.

    Cons

    I can't think of too many cons in my office.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent hospital

    Nov 25, 2022 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Kansas City, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    the resources available are unmatched

    Cons

    my unit specifically gets a lot of nurses floated from other units

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the University of Kansas Medical Center team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    This company has been great

    Nov 16, 2022 - Grievance Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great communication and care about employees

    Cons

    I have never worked on campus/site so I cant comment on that.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Nov 10, 2022 - Postdoctoral Fellow in Kansas City, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice environment , good location

    Cons

    Good working place in Kansas city

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great job

    Nov 8, 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to learn and grow

    Cons

    Need to spread my wings

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A great place to train to be a chaplain.

    Nov 19, 2022 - Chaplain Resident in Kansas City, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great benefits - Staff chaplains are helpful & supportive to residents - Good Clinical Pastoral Education program

    Cons

    - Lots of overnight shifts - Schedule can be a lot

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Considerate Department Manager. Understaffed & Underpaid.

    Nov 21, 2022 - Clinical Registered Dietitian in Kansas City, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good entry level experience and exposure into medical field. Management generally accomoating when it comes to family obligations.

    Cons

    Stressful, tense and HIGHLY political environment. Inadequate workspace. Nutrition and wellness not prioritized overall in patient care.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A large institution with the usual good and bad

    Nov 15, 2022 - Project Manager in Kansas City, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent salaries overall, great benefits (esp. PTO) for the most part, a lot of opportunities to move up and/or around.

    Cons

    KUMC has a lot of great minds and good people but there still remain many counterproductive traditions that won't die, sleazy politics, and inevitably seems to have a left hand that never knows what the right hand is doing.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    Oct 28, 2022 - Medical Student in Kansas City, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Treated fairly and respected by attendings and residents.

    Cons

    Administration employees can be hard to communicate with.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Hospital

    Oct 19, 2022 - Resident Physician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people, nice facilities, complex cases

    Cons

    More dedicated teaching time, higher pay

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 521 Reviews
</>Embed

University of Kansas Medical Center Reviews FAQs

University of Kansas Medical Center has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5, based on over 545 reviews left anonymously by employees. 83% of employees would recommend working at University of Kansas Medical Center to a friend and 68% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, University of Kansas Medical Center employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at University of Kansas Medical Center. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

83% of University of Kansas Medical Center employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated University of Kansas Medical Center 4.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at University of Kansas Medical Center to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be management, workplace, compensation.

Popular Careers with University of Kansas Medical Center Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at University of Kansas Medical Center? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

University of Kansas Medical Center Photos

+ Add Photo
University of Kansas Medical Center photo of: Lab bench
University of Kansas Medical Center photo of: Outside the Student Union
University of Kansas Medical Center photo of: The View from the Lab
University of Kansas Medical Center photo of: KUMC
University of Kansas Medical Center photo of: View from the 2nd floor of Health Education Building
University of Kansas Medical Center photo of: Walk way to Library, Research Center, and Parking Lots
University of Kansas Medical Center photo of: Inside the Main Lobby for the Medical Center
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

University of Kansas Medical Center Job Seekers Also Viewed

The University of Kansas Health System Logo
The University of Kansas Health System

3.9

567 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 545 University of Kansas Medical Center reviews submitted anonymously by University of Kansas Medical Center employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if University of Kansas Medical Center is right for you.