University of London Reviews | Glassdoor

University of London Reviews

Updated Feb 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
82%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
University of London Vice-Chancellor Adrian Smith (no image)
Adrian Smith
10 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No career progression, unless you pretend being friends with all your colleagues and especially with senior managers(in 5 reviews)

  • "No cons however this was only a temp role(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at University of London

    Pros

    Very supportive group of people

    Cons

    I work remotely, and time difference can be difficult

    University of London2017-10-07
  2. "Fantastic employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of London full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Beautiful location, great people, supportive of employees (professional development of employees, flexible working, family friendly)

    Cons

    Organisation is so large procedures are not always obvious... you'll be trying to find out who is responsible for certain things and find that you're running around in circles. No change management culture- many teams stuck doing things because "it's the way it's always been done".

    University of London2020-02-08
  3. "Good atmosphere, poor admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Tutor 

    I worked at University of London part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    interesting work, nice colleagues, nice atmosphere

    Cons

    Poor admin and problems with payroll

    University of London2020-02-04
  4. "Great environment to study and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of London full-time

    Pros

    Great professors and a competitive and stimulating environment

    Cons

    Living in central London can be very expensive some times

    University of London2019-11-13
  5. "Tough Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 

    I worked at University of London part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent rate of pay, satisfying work

    Cons

    Low working hours, some bad communication

    University of London2019-11-15
  6. "Like most higher education institutions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Head of Disability 

    I worked at University of London full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good holiday entitlements and pension scheme

    Cons

    Too much to do with too few resources

    University of London2019-10-09
  7. "Great temp work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Temp Role in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at University of London full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice staff and good location

    Cons

    No cons however this was only a temp role

    University of London2019-09-10
  8. "Purpose and challenge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Careers Consultant 

    I have been working at University of London part-time

    Pros

    This is a great role - purposeful work supporting student employability, bright and interesting colleagues

    Cons

    There's always a challenge. Often it would be great to have more resource to make even more difference...

    University of London2019-08-21
  9. "Few faults but few benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Content Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of London full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Steady place to work with good renumeration and open work structure; easy to talk to management and they expect and reward good ideas and proactivity.

    Cons

    Can be hard to progress and they seem to prefer hiring externally to promoting existing staff. Also quite quiet and sometimes awkward office environment, but I’m sure that isn’t company-wide.

    University of London2019-08-12
  10. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lecturer in London, England

    I worked at University of London full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teaching and Research and great opportunities

    Cons

    Quality assessment takes too long

    University of London2019-07-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 76 reviews