University of Magdeburg Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Magdeburg Reviews

Updated Jul 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
University of Magdeburg CEO  Jens Strackeljan
Jens Strackeljan
8 Ratings
  1. "PhD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Magdeburg full-time

    Pros

    Freedom to lead autonomously your research interests

    Cons

    No assistance from the Professors

    Continue reading
    University of Magdeburg2018-05-23
  2. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Magdeburg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Magdeburg full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good and famous Professors Very equipped laboratories Very friendly environment

    Cons

    A new university and stll not very high in ranking

    Continue reading
    University of Magdeburg2017-07-17
  3. "Praktikum an der Uni Magdeburg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft in Magdeburg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at University of Magdeburg part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a wonderful experience with the supportive supervisor to discuss and work together in a friendly environment. I work under the chair for electromagnetic compatibility and was able to publish a research paper together with the supervisor and professor within the short period of time in an international conference.

    Cons

    The working hours signed might be not sufficient in some cases but the thing that I learned was more worthy than the hourly payments.

    Continue reading
    University of Magdeburg2016-12-01
  4. "My Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Magdeburg part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - nice atmosphere - nice colleagues

    Cons

    - hm I do not know

    Continue reading
    University of Magdeburg2016-04-09
  5. "Flexible working hours and quite good salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher in Magdeburg

    I have been working at University of Magdeburg

    Pros

    - relatively flexible working time - some freedom in research - opportunity to realize own ideas - opportunity to travel to different countries for conferences - typically salaries at universities are lower than in industry but here salaries are above average for the city

    Cons

    - quite a lot of bureaucracy at the beginning (but with some help can be done very fast) - the default pension plan requires working in state institutions for at least 5 years, otherwise, you will not receive the collected pension

    Continue reading
    University of Magdeburg2015-10-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome among colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Magdeburg

    Pros

    The laboratories are well equipped. Top class research can be done easily. Access to university dormitories and nearer to shopping malls.

    Cons

    You need a good knowledge of German language to adapt to the life in the city. Salaries are just about average compare to other parts of Germany

    Continue reading
    University of Magdeburg2015-10-25
  7. "It is a very good place to work and to mingle with multicultural people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant in Magdeburg
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at University of Magdeburg part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, good infrastructure and facilities

    Cons

    I did't see any cons in perticular

    Continue reading
    University of Magdeburg2012-07-20
  8. "OVGU Magdeburg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in Magdeburg
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Magdeburg part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - freie und selbständige Arbeitsgestaltung - unterstützende Arbeitskultur - großes Angebot für Weiterbildungen und persönliche Interessen

    Cons

    - unsichere Karrieremöglichkeiten - großer Bürokratieaufwand für jegliche Prozesse

    Continue reading
    University of Magdeburg2019-07-03
  9. "Wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft IWF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Magdeburg part-time

    Pros

    Junges Team Fähiges offenes Personal Rücksicht auf Studium

    Cons

    Bürokratie bei Vertragsverlängerung ist störend

    Continue reading
    University of Magdeburg2019-07-03
  10. "Ganz ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wissenschaftliche/r Mitarbeiter/in in Magdeburg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Magdeburg full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible Arbeitszeiten Kinderbetreuung viele unterschiedliche Projekte vielseitiges Sportangebot günstiges Essen

    Cons

    viel zu viel Arbeit, oft über 50 Stunden nach Promotion keine weitere Entwicklung

    Continue reading
    University of Magdeburg2019-07-02
Found 32 reviews