University of Manchester "working environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Manchester Reviews

Updated Mar 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
University of Manchester President and Vice Chancellor Nancy Rothwell
Nancy Rothwell
36 Ratings
  1. "Good place to teach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Teaching Assistant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Manchester for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly working environment, good management team

    Cons

    Do no have anything to say

    University of Manchester2016-10-24
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Researcher in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Manchester full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work colleagues Nice work environment Flexible working hours as a researcher Job was well paid Possibility for further training

    Cons

    Sometimes I felt like HR got round to things very slowly, and resulted in salary being paid late.

    University of Manchester2016-10-16
  3. "Inspirational and dynamic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Manchester for less than a year

    Pros

    The university is filled with friendly, enthusiastic and passionate staff, the atmosphere is extremely lively, and the workload is varied. Overall, a really nice working environment.

    Cons

    Temporary staff are not particularly well-paid compared to their permanent counterparts. They do not receive remuneration for their breaks and it does take a while to actually get paid

    Continue reading
    University of Manchester2016-10-07
  4. "Researcher student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I have been working at University of Manchester

    Pros

    The university offers very goof lab and facilities. You can learn a lot and have a easy work environment.

    Cons

    Maybe not a fair career path if you do not want to be an academia or you have limited compentence in researching area.

    Continue reading
    University of Manchester2015-08-26
  5. "Postdoctoral Research Associate Electrical and Electronic Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    PhD 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Manchester for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good working environment, Salary is being reviewed every August

    Cons

    No cons for the time being

    University of Manchester2015-07-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "PhD Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    PhD Student in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Manchester for less than a year

    Pros

    Generally good work environment, friendly colleagues. Plenty of stuff to do on campus. Relative income is good (cost of living is cheap)

    Cons

    Complicated office politics. Poor training opportunities, expected to be mainly autodidactic.

    Continue reading
    University of Manchester2015-07-13
  7. "Great learning opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern Software Developer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Manchester for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly work environment, relaxed, friendly colleagues, flexible work hours, high responsibility from start to work on projects that were very relevant to current university issues. My code is currently used daily by thousands of students.

    Cons

    I outperformed their expectations and did not have an additional projects to give me for several weeks on end.

    Continue reading
    University of Manchester2014-10-25
  8. "excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Manchester

    Pros

    the working time is flexible and working environment is fair. the campus is beautiful and every year has Christmas closure

    Cons

    low salary compared to major utilities and industry companies. publication is necessary for promotion. bring projects is necessary for promotion

    University of Manchester2012-02-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 28 reviews