University of Maryland Global Campus Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Maryland Global Campus Reviews

Updated Nov 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
47%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
University of Maryland Global Campus CEO  Javier Miyares
Javier Miyares
63 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work tuition benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Scrum Master 

    I have been working at University of Maryland Global Campus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tuition Benefits good people and culture

    Cons

    long hours and takes for ever for the shift to change

    University of Maryland Global Campus2019-10-05
  2. "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Faculty Member in Yigo, GU

    I worked at University of Maryland Global Campus part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility and Autonomy of teaching platform styles, as long as you remain supportive of mission and required academic points

    Cons

    Scheduling is sparse due to military enrollment

    University of Maryland Global Campus2019-11-23
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, bad politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Support in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Maryland Global Campus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    relaxed environment, decent pay and benefits

    Cons

    Too much politics for a state run uni

    Advice to Management

    My managers are awesome. The top top brass isnt

    University of Maryland Global Campus2019-10-20
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Nobody Cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Academic Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Maryland Global Campus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The students are great, I loved my coworkers and the benefits are unmatched.

    Cons

    This is the worst management I have ever worked with in my life. There was no communication at all, my boss spoke to me directly twice in the entire time that I worked there. Training is terrible. The amount of work is humanly impossible. The job requirements changed constantly that made it impossible to plan a life around. Management blatantly lied to new employees in interviews about expectations. All they care... about is the numbers, it's supposed to be a nonprofit school,certainly didn't operate like one. I could go on and on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be honest about expectations upfront. I'm sure that there is someone who could accept this but you're never going to find those people if you aren't honest. Stop treating employees as if they're disposable... they're not. As an online school advisors are often the only face students come in contact with, UMUC students have no problem transferring. High turnover looks sketchy and students will leave.

    University of Maryland Global Campus2019-08-29
  6. "Pleasant atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Information Security Analyst in Largo, MD

    I have been working at University of Maryland Global Campus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A friendly environment to work and to learn.

    Cons

    I am not meeting many people.

    University of Maryland Global Campus2019-08-07
  7. "admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Advisor in Largo, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Maryland Global Campus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    reliable check, bonuses, good time off

    Cons

    stunted career growth ladder

    University of Maryland Global Campus2019-08-05
  8. "leader in online education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Program Specialist in Largo, MD

    I have been working at University of Maryland Global Campus part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    classes are only 8 weeks structured syllabi and class outline

    Cons

    staffing assignments can be random

    University of Maryland Global Campus2019-07-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Get what you can, then GET OUT of SEM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Advisor in Largo, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Maryland Global Campus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -paycheck -good co-workers, you will build great rapport -opportunity to take on more responsibilities -comfortable location to work, nice building

    Cons

    -only constant is change -high turn over -hiring within, not guaranteed, -burn out is inevitable

    Advice to Management

    Don't take away a fundamental aspect of a position just to bring it back, call it something else, offer more money for it and deem most employees that qualify for the work ineligible

    University of Maryland Global Campus2019-07-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Need raise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in College Park, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Maryland Global Campus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co worker are very freindly

    Cons

    Could have a mire complitve salaries

    Advice to Management

    Equal pay for equal job.

    University of Maryland Global Campus2019-07-03
  11. "UMUC works for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Maryland Global Campus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team environment, good work/life balance, good health benefits and retirement benefits, tuition remission.

    Cons

    Communication could be better, departments tend to segment themselves and hyperfocus on their jobs rather than considering the bigger picture

    Advice to Management

    Encourage open and honest communication without negative backlash

    University of Maryland Global Campus2019-06-15
Found 364 reviews