University of Maryland Reviews

Updated May 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
University of Maryland President Dr. Wallace D. Loh
Dr. Wallace D. Loh
676 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours and good manager(in 90 reviews)

  • "Very friendly work environment, lots of resources for academic and professional growth(in 85 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no cons of working at UMD(in 48 reviews)

  • "College Park is not the safest city(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Faculty Research Assistant in College Park, MD

    I have been working at University of Maryland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wonderful community full of people excited to share their research. And the University/State of MD offers GREAT benefits (health insurance, leave, pension plans, etc.).

    Cons

    Commute can be a hassle. Sometimes buildings are a bit shabby (my office has no windows, for example).

    University of Maryland2020-05-20
  2. "Stimulating place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Associate in College Park, MD

    I have been working at University of Maryland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting projects, nice pay and benefits, ability to commute from Washington

    Cons

    No cons for this company.

    University of Maryland2020-05-20
  3. "Great on-campus job!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Technology Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Maryland part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a student, this job allows you to go around the University of Maryland campus and solve classroom technology issues. It is an adventure itself. I have learned a lot about communication and basic troubleshooting skills in this job.

    Cons

    When handling technology issues on campus, the customers with those issues could be very uptight.

    University of Maryland2020-05-09
  4. "departing comments"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Associate Professor of Computer Science in College Park, MD

    I worked at University of Maryland full-time

    Pros

    academic freedom and rewarding teaching

    Cons

    unending tenure promotion and annual reviews

    University of Maryland2020-05-23
  5. "Nice campus"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at University of Maryland part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful campus; diversity; great shuttle service

    Cons

    low pay; international student fee

    University of Maryland2020-05-24
  6. "Teaching Assistant"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Graduate Student Teaching Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Maryland part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really helped me sharpen my skills in the respective teaching assistant role.

    Cons

    Timing if possibly more flexible

    University of Maryland2020-05-22
  7. "Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Research Scientist in College Park, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Maryland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, holidays, support, paternity leave

    Cons

    Did not support green card

    University of Maryland2020-05-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Student"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in College Park, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Maryland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Diversity, strong academics, positive community

    Cons

    Hard to reach campus workers when you have concerns

    University of Maryland2020-04-29
  9. "Good Start"

    4.0
    Current Employee - IT Support 

    I have been working at University of Maryland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to start, good benefits and people

    Cons

    Lots of things are limited by budget and bureaucracy

    University of Maryland2020-05-10
  10. "Helps pay for school"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in College Park, MD

    I have been working at University of Maryland part-time

    Pros

    Being a GRA helps cover tuition costs

    Cons

    There may be a lot of hidden costs to the sponsoring organization where the assistant may receive < 1/2 of the amount spent by the organization for the labor

    University of Maryland2020-05-07
Found 1852 reviews