University of Michigan "winters" Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Michigan Employee Reviews about "winters"

Updated Aug 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
92%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
University of Michigan President Mark Schlissel
Mark Schlissel
729 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There are no cons to working here(in 54 reviews)

  • "Not a big fan of the winters here but that is minor(in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "winters"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Enlisted Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Michigan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing atmosphere Professional staff members

    Cons

    Long hours Cold winters

    University of Michigan2019-08-26
  2. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Program Assistant in Ann Arbor, MI

    I worked at University of Michigan part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large university environment, great campus, Ann Arbor is a nice city too.

    Cons

    It is a college town/environment, and has very cold and long winters.

    University of Michigan2019-06-25
  3. "Graduate Student Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student Researcher in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Michigan full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great faculty and staff, beautiful and small city, numerous funding opportunities, good benefits

    Cons

    Winters can be harsh for those that are unaccustomed to the midwest. Ann arbor is lovely, but it very much feels like a college integrated with a small town. This isn't a con for all, but I feel that it's easy to outgrow such a place.

    University of Michigan2018-09-18
  4. "PhD Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Candidate in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Michigan full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ann Arbor attracts intelligent kind people that are in a top-10 program of any field. The biomedical science PhD programs specifically are managed well and have hundreds of faculty to work with. I have been mentored extremely well and published multiple times during my PhD. Many professors have great connections in academia and industry and there are many opportunities for learning about alternative careers.

    Cons

    Not a big fan of the winters here but that is minor. While there are a lot of faculty, like anywhere, there are a lot of poor mentors that should be avoided. World-class researchers are here, but it can take some effort to find them and join their labs.

    Continue reading
    University of Michigan2018-04-03
  5. "u mich was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Instructor in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Michigan for less than a year

    Pros

    pretty good work environment. worked over summer.

    Cons

    the winters are bad. ice everywhere

    University of Michigan2018-04-05
  6. "Postdoctoral research fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Michigan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent research environment. Good compensation package and excellent hospital. Location is also amazing, beautiful nature, full four seasons, close to airport, airport is a hub for Europe flights.

    Cons

    Can be depressing during the winters.

    University of Michigan2017-11-01
  7. "Graduate Student Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Michigan full-time

    Pros

    Very supportive and rich environment

    Cons

    Winters in Ann Arbor are sometime tough!

    University of Michigan2017-10-01
  8. "Calm environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at University of Michigan

    Pros

    Academic and living environment, cultural diversity

    Cons

    Weather , long winters, and size of the city

    University of Michigan2017-05-11
  9. "Highly work orinted, nothing much to do, low salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Michigan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good research facilities, strong academic environment

    Cons

    Harsh weather, hot summers and very cold winters, nothing much to do for entertainment

    University of Michigan2017-03-10
  10. "Awesome place, awesome people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Michigan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of best places to do research and be a grad student. The mentors really care about the student and their future. People are friendly and open to collaborations.

    Cons

    Too cold during winters!! Wish there were more restaurants near the medical center especially when working late nights

    Continue reading
    University of Michigan2016-11-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 43 reviews