Cover image for University of Minnesota
Logo

University of Minnesota

Engaged Employer

University of Minnesota

Add a Review

University of Minnesota Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 3,517 of over 4K reviews
4.2
83% Recommend to a Friend
University of Minnesota President  Joan Gabel
74% Approve of CEO

Found 3,515 of over 4K reviews

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
University of Minnesota President  Joan Gabel
Joan Gabel
494 Ratings

What people are saying about University of Minnesota

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "The pay was low and there were often tedious projects to do that didn't seem to have much end value.(in 318 reviews)
  • "Long work hours and low salary(in 129 reviews)
  • "Parking is expensive so it is best if you live near campus and can take a bus in.(in 56 reviews)
  • "Poor management and organization of labs(in 48 reviews)
  • "Professors are not trained to be good managers, but this is true at all research universities(in 22 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of University of Minnesota and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Clear weather

    Nov 28, 2022 - Graduate Research Assistant in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mostly clear sky, and lots of funny things near U.

    Cons

    Too cold during winter. Half of a year is winter basically.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Inclusive... when it's convenient.

    Nov 28, 2022 - Worked In Multiple Roles 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    More resources than most universities since it's a huge research institution. Opportunities for professional development, tuition benefits, EAP, etc. There are good communities here even though it's a large campus. Just takes a bit of work to find them. Definitely met some fantastic, impactful friends and role models while working here. (many have moved on, but glad our paths crossed)

    Cons

    Worked directly with HR and on many hiring committees. The amount of malpractice, confirmation bias, and frankly immaturity I witnessed from the folks reviewing/interacting with candidates was astounding. The U preaches "diversity, equity, and inclusion" when it benefits the brand, but absolutely does not prioritize this in practice. I heard horrifying comments about working parents, disabled talent (myself included -- do NOT work here if you have an ADA protected disability. Even if you receive accommodations people can be cruel), LGBTQ+ talent, religiously diverse talent... do I need to go on? It saddens me greatly to write this as I received two degrees from here and had a fantastic academic experience. At the end of the day, working here allowed me to obtain a degree and for that I'm thankful. It came at a huge price. My mental and physical health was beyond shot at the end of my run here. From a talent management perspective, all I can say is this place ran me into the ground. Checking all of the vitriol and bias from the majority became too exhausting. I won't forget the ugly comments made about dear colleagues, prospective talent, and (unfortunately) students, but I have learned a great deal from my time here.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the University of Minnesota team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Job for Dispatcher

    Nov 27, 2022 - 911 Dispatcher in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    laid back environment. great coworkers.

    Cons

    have to work weekends and overnight shifts. lots of employee turnover.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great management and schedule flexibility

    Nov 26, 2022 - Part-time Student Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They fully understand you are a student first

    Cons

    The pay is lagging behind Minneapolis standards

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great for early career

    Nov 26, 2022 - Assistant Professor in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive as far as resources, some colleagues are great

    Cons

    Departmental leadership does not have a vision and loses sight of needs of junior faculty .

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good but we should be payed more

    Nov 26, 2022 - Teaching Assistant in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility, nice staff, nice students, okay teachers to TA for

    Cons

    Rent prices are the same as the first half of your check. These prices need to be increased based on inflation

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Consistent, Safe and Secure.

    Nov 25, 2022 - Director in Minneapolis-Saint Paul
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible Work Schedule, Development opportunities for advancement and on the Job Training!

    Cons

    Beau acratic policies delay projects.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Scientist

    Nov 21, 2022 - Research Scientist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Exciting research, cutting edge technology and intelligent coworkers.

    Cons

    Workload can make it difficult to have a life outside of work.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Good community

    Nov 20, 2022 - Tutor in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with students

    Cons

    We could use more promotion around campus

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Poor pay

    Nov 18, 2022 - Graduate Research Assistant in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome advisor. Excellent research. Excellent opportunities after graduation and even during school. Great insurance.

    Cons

    Poor pay. Poor dental/vision. Poor treatment by higher management.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,515 Reviews
</>Embed

University of Minnesota Reviews FAQs

University of Minnesota has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 3,749 reviews left anonymously by employees. 83% of employees would recommend working at University of Minnesota to a friend and 65% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, University of Minnesota employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at University of Minnesota. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

83% of University of Minnesota employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated University of Minnesota 4.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 3.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at University of Minnesota to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be management, compensation.

Popular Careers with University of Minnesota Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at University of Minnesota? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

University of Minnesota Photos

+ Add Photo
University of Minnesota photo of: Welcome to the University of Minnesota.
University of Minnesota photo of: We are driven to discover.
University of Minnesota photo of: Extension brings Minnesotans together to build a better future through University science-based knowledge, expertise and training.
University of Minnesota photo of: Goldy Gopher joins an outdoor qigong class at the Farmers Market on the Twin Cities campus.
University of Minnesota photo of: "I came to the University for the benefits, and I’m staying at the University for the benefits."—Dwayne Holmes, Delivery Service Driver
University of Minnesota photo of: "As the natural areas gardener, I’m diversifying what we plant and incorporating hardy native species into our landscaping."—Alex Wegryzn
University of Minnesota photo of: Crookston faculty teach in a close-knit community that is both big enough for students to grow, and small enough to care about each student.
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

University of Minnesota Job Seekers Also Viewed

General Mills Logo
General Mills

4.1

3,830 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 3,749 University of Minnesota reviews submitted anonymously by University of Minnesota employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if University of Minnesota is right for you.