University of Mississippi Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Mississippi Medical Center Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 218 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
University of Mississippi Medical Center CEO Kevin Cook (no image)
Kevin Cook
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "They have great benefits and salary(in 20 reviews)

  • "Opportunities for continuing education with stipends for degrees from UMMC related universities/schools(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and long amount of days(in 5 reviews)

  • "There is little to no room for growth in current position(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "N/a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Engineer 

    I have been working at University of Mississippi Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work and grow

    Cons

    Great place to work at

    University of Mississippi Medical Center2019-10-11
  2. "Great place to work with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Mississippi Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    State benefits and retirement. Department of Surgery is a great department to work with no drama.

    Cons

    Not always room for growth.

    University of Mississippi Medical Center2019-10-01
  3. "You'll be stuck for years..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Admissions in Jackson, MS

    I worked at University of Mississippi Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Huge organization, being a part of changing healthcare in a state that truly needs it.

    Cons

    Parking is a nightmare and if you are granted a space on campus you have to pay for it. No recognition or pay raise system so it won't matter how well you do your job, you'll get paid the same as someone would is ineffective.

    Advice to Management

    They should seriously implement at least a step increase in pay for employees.

    University of Mississippi Medical Center2019-09-26
  4. "Good State Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sponsored Program Administrator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Mississippi Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits aren't expensive. Huge Campus.

    Cons

    Horrible Parking. No room for pay raises without changing job titles.

    University of Mississippi Medical Center2019-09-19
  5. "Great place to learn and grow as nurse professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse Manager in Jackson, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Mississippi Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Great teamwork and relations among the nurse managers.

    Cons

    Middle management (Nurse Managers) is not supported by upper management and human resource personnel when holding staff accountable for poor job performance.

    Advice to Management

    If upper management is going to hold middle management accountable for service provided to the clients, (s)he must be supportive when one holds staff accountable for poor job performance, especially when clients are receiving care that may worsen his or her condition.

    University of Mississippi Medical Center2019-08-16
  6. "UMMC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Surgery Scheduler 

    I have been working at University of Mississippi Medical Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, hours, location, PTO, coworkers

    Cons

    Pay, no overtime, have to pay to park,

    University of Mississippi Medical Center2019-07-31
  7. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jackson, MS

    I have been working at University of Mississippi Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have great benefits and salary

    Cons

    The workload is quite great, but this is okay if it’s what you’re looking for

    University of Mississippi Medical Center2019-06-16
  8. "Evs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at University of Mississippi Medical Center

    Pros

    Great hours that is about it. All I can say

    Cons

    Not good workers they are so disrespectful

    University of Mississippi Medical Center2019-06-05
  9. "Good benefits, but . . ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Specialist in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Mississippi Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I believe in the mission and belive that UMMC is doing great things for the state of Mississippi. I like that they offer an education benefit, and the other benefits, including amount of PTO and medical leave are great.

    Cons

    The biggest con is that they make it so hard to move up. I have been in the same position at the same salary for 4 years even after obtaining and advanced degree, and obtaining other certifications specific to my job.

    University of Mississippi Medical Center2019-06-03
  10. "Great pay...messy environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Office Assistant in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Mississippi Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, great patients, easy systems to learn. The training was phenomenal.

    Cons

    As most of those lower end pay positions, it's a very messy environment with young people in this position. Just keep that in mind if you're starting off with the organization like I was in my late 30's.

    University of Mississippi Medical Center2019-04-26
Found 218 reviews