University of Nebraska–Lincoln Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Nebraska–Lincoln Reviews

Updated Jun 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 341 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
James Linder, M.D.
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's very convenient to work on campus and I love being able to contribute to the learning environment of UNL(in 17 reviews)

  • "Lovely place , nice work environment(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some professors mistreat international students (somehow we get less of everything than a resident student)(in 11 reviews)

  • "Something that has not to do with UNL but the weather is very extreme(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Assistant 

    I worked at University of Nebraska–Lincoln part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a great experience!

    Cons

    There was no cons when i was working there.

    University of Nebraska–Lincoln2019-05-15
  2. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Library Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Nebraska–Lincoln part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible hours, you can study while working. Managers and supervisors are care about students

    Cons

    There is not any downside about working at the library.

    University of Nebraska–Lincoln2019-06-17
  3. "UNL is a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Professor in Lincoln, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Nebraska–Lincoln full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Forward-thinking leadership, positive environment, good location

    Cons

    Decisions are made slowly, like any university

    University of Nebraska–Lincoln2019-06-14
  4. "Administrative Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at University of Nebraska–Lincoln

      Pros

      I learned a lot about the academia.

      Cons

      Busy work. Hard to take time off. Lincoln is small city with low cost of living. Low salaries.

      Advice to Management

      Great management, faculty, and administrators.

      University of Nebraska–Lincoln2019-06-07
    • "Senior Design Team 2019"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Team Leader 

        I worked at University of Nebraska–Lincoln part-time

        Pros

        Responsive and caring. Overall great environment to work in.

        Cons

        Schedule gets hectic at times

        University of Nebraska–Lincoln2019-06-04
      • "UNL Children's Center - Early Childhood Education School"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Early Childhood Education Teacher in Lincoln, NE
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at University of Nebraska–Lincoln full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Diverse. Highest rating in the state for education provided to children. Amazing children and families. Good benefits such as free university tuition.

        Cons

        Lots of cliques between employees and administration. Little autonomy.

        University of Nebraska–Lincoln2019-06-12
      • "Research Administrator Job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Grants Coordinator in Lincoln, NE
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at University of Nebraska–Lincoln full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        UNL has good health insurance benefits, leave benefits (after you work here long enough to acrue decent amounts of time, that is) and is a good place to start a professional career.

        Cons

        Can be a tough place to move up as upper level management positions are often very insular. Vacation time is earned based on years of employment, so can take years to move beyond 1 day/month in acrual. Once you hit a certain number of years though, you're golden. Also, for managerial/professional positions you do always have a huge bank of sick leave available after only 2 years of employment. FMLA can be tricky depending...

        Show More
        University of Nebraska–Lincoln2019-06-07
      • "Common adjunct experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Adjunct Lecturer 

        I have been working at University of Nebraska–Lincoln part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        This university has wonderful educators and facilities.

        Cons

        Like most universities, administrative positions expand while exploiting adjunct employees.

        University of Nebraska–Lincoln2019-06-04
      • "Working as as student"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Dining Services in Lincoln, NE
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at University of Nebraska–Lincoln part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Flexible hours and helpful staff

        Cons

        Physically straining due to the nature of work

        University of Nebraska–Lincoln2019-05-21
      • "A good place to study and conduct various research projects"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Current Employee - Graduate Researcher in Lincoln, NE

        I have been working at University of Nebraska–Lincoln part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Good facilities with a beautiful campus

        Cons

        Construction department is still growing. It needs time to excel.

        University of Nebraska–Lincoln2019-05-13
      Found 341 reviews