KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

University of Nebraska–Lincoln

Is this your company?

University of Nebraska–Lincoln

Add a Review

University of Nebraska–Lincoln Reviews

Updated Jan 19, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 738 of over 802 reviews

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
University of Nebraska–Lincoln Interim President James Linder, M.D. (no image)
James Linder, M.D.
132 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing work environment for part time(in 49 reviews)

  • "Able to work on studies, flexible hours(in 38 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Relatively low pay for the work you do(in 29 reviews)

  • "None really just choose your research team wisely(in 24 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Teachers

    Join the conversation on

    Teachers

    1y

    a 

    West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

    Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

    2,873

    959 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of University of Nebraska–Lincoln and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good

      Jan 19, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent university, diverse, great environment

      Cons

      Everything is good. I do not have cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good College Job

      Jan 18, 2022 - Academic Tutor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was great to work with the staff and the students!

      Cons

      Tutoring tables are first come, first serve. During busy hours, there aren't many available.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good employer

      Jan 18, 2022 - Assistant Professor in Lincoln, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      the working environment is quite supportive

      Cons

      I didn't find the cons so far

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      It's not great but you can scrape by if you want to put yourself though academia.

      Jan 19, 2022 - Grad Student in Lincoln, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You're in grad school and can make your own schedule to a point.

      Cons

      I am a TA for my paycheck which just means I have to do two jobs (TA and research) for the same paycheck as an RA that is only concerned with their research.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great benefits, great people, low(ish) pay

      Jan 18, 2022 - Project Manager in Lincoln, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Educational benefits!! Get your degree Great PTO and sick time medical benefits... hard to come by these days!

      Cons

      the university is underfunded (state-funded university), so raises are hard to come by, basically department takes turns getting raises, hard to find motivation to work harder when it's not your turn that year.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Review

      Jan 10, 2022 - Office Assistant in Lincoln, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      So fun and I learn a lot

      Cons

      To be honest, nothing really.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee

      I will not choose to work here once my degree is done.

      Jan 19, 2022 - Graduate Student in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      tuition remission (minus student fees, which are over $1000 each semester) and gaining experience as an instructor of record.

      Cons

      Exploitative, very little support, and very low wages. I teach half of a full-time faculty course load and am paid very little.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Love working here

      Dec 28, 2021 - Peer Tutor in Lincoln, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I get paid a decent amount to help other students It has pretty flexible hours, whenever I want to be scheduled

      Cons

      Sometimes it's difficult trying to supplement a teacher's teaching when the students don't seem to understand almost any of it

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Big organization - the review is for my group

      Nov 3, 2021 - Research Assistant Professor in Lincoln, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My research group is amazing to work with and the people are world-class, top-notch. Excellent research group. However, they are a microcosm within the entire University organism, and not all is as good as the group I worked with.

      Cons

      UNL overall has some great people and yet is underwhelming in many areas. There is a lot of "robbing Peter to pay Paul" going on in which successful research groups contribute significant F&A to subsidize vastly less-successful groups and faculty who are paid big sums for little work. Tenure system is antiquated and should be eliminated from universities nationwide. I liked many of the people I was in closest contact with but at higher and higher levels of administration, both support and cooperation were reduced.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Student Opportunity

      Jan 1, 2022 - Student Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good team and good communication. feel supported in creative decisions

      Cons

      some projects can be small and boring

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 738 Reviews

    University of Nebraska–Lincoln Reviews FAQs

    86% of University of Nebraska–Lincoln employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated University of Nebraska–Lincoln 4.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 4 for culture and values and 3.8 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at University of Nebraska–Lincoln to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be management, culture, compensation.

    Popular Careers with University of Nebraska–Lincoln Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at University of Nebraska–Lincoln? Share Your Experiences

    or