University of New England Reviews in Portland, ME | Glassdoor

University of New England Portland Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
University of New England CEO James Herbert
James Herbert
4 Ratings
  1. "Adjunct Faculty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of New England full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reasonable expectations and competitive pay. Full-time administrative employees are great.

    Cons

    Not all the adjust faculty were well qualified.

    University of New England2018-05-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic environment & Little respect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Professional Staff Member in Portland, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of New England full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Beautiful campuses. Facilities department does an amazing job during all seasons. Unsung heroes. Most adjunct are very dedicated.

    Cons

    Professional Development reserved for upper management only (and not much at that... $ is pinched) Inequity of benefits between staff. Micromanagement from leadership creates stressful and toxic environment. Management makes decisions without understanding processes and does not inform/query effected stakeholders. Management often says one thing but then does something else. Leadership fails to communicate so professional staff must rely on the grapevine.

    Continue reading
    University of New England2019-08-08
  3. "Excellent Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructional Designer in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of New England full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I thoroughly enjoyed the time I spent as a member of the IDS team. The College of Graduate and Professional Studies team has excellent, inspiring leadership, and the IDS team is smart, creative, committed, and very good at what they do. Benefits are outstanding -- 20 days vacation in addition to holidays and sick leave. Tuition benefits are a nice perk. The culture is friendly and fun with Lunch n' Learns, potlucks, and after-work social activities. The open office space is pleasant with many smaller work and meeting spaces available. Standing desks are provided.

    Cons

    Although the benefits are fantastic, salaries aren't quite competitive with similar professional opportunities in the area. Working remotely isn't an option. Tuition benefits don't extend to doctoral level programs -- unfortunate since most employees in CGPS already have at least a Master's. The hiring process takes too long, so when employees leave, there is often an extended burden on co-workers to take up the slack for many months until a new person is hired and trained.

    Continue reading
    University of New England2019-08-03
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Decent pay and benefits, not great atmostphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Support Specialist in Portland, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of New England full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    tuition benefits for UNE programs, 4 weeks vacation, good insurance plans, etc. In some positions it is possible to only work set hours and not bring work home with you which is a plus

    Cons

    bad work atmosphere, no room for promotion, lack of professional development

    Continue reading
    University of New England2019-07-12
  5. "Not a place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Portland, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of New England full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The friendships I made that I am taking with me. My immediate supervisor.

    Cons

    Lack of moral, treated unfairly, no equality with job titles. Management in the online college is micromanaging over everything while the important things fall through the cracks, treats Admins like we are not important ( we are a huge part of the programs we work in). Management also promised many of us job title change with pay increase, with back pay, then dragged it out for many months, then pull the rug out of under us and said no. Management need leadership training and they also need some humility, understand and true compassion. My immediate supervisor should be in the Management roll because she is one that would make this online college thrive and grow instead of the current Management who are running it into the ground.

    Continue reading
    University of New England2019-08-05
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Terrible atmosphere, incompetent leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Portland, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of New England full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    UNE offers great benefits, 403b match and vacation time are great. Health insurance is good.

    Cons

    University leadership is turning a blind eye to incompetent College-level leaders. The (former) fastest growth college is currently being run into the ground due to poor leadership decisions. Bullying and bad behavior is allowed to flourish, as conflict is avoided at all costs by upper management. There is no accountability. Staff are not given any professional development, nor are they respected for their contributions. Positions are currently being cut, with the expectation that others will absorb the work. College leaders are tone deaf and ignorant to the current culture, which erodes more and more each day. College leaders have no self awareness that they are the problem.

    Continue reading
    University of New England2019-08-01
  7. "Incompetent management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cognos Developer in Portland, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of New England full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lunch break was nice to have...

    Cons

    Information and technology services CIO didn't know anything about information and technology services and had to have his secretary open his email for him.

    Continue reading
    University of New England2019-06-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "An environment of scarcity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Adjunct Professor in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of New England for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Beautiful locations, broad vision and generally warm colleagues

    Cons

    Poor pay, administration reluctant to invest in personnel, very top-down management at upper levels.

    University of New England2019-04-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "A collection of amateurs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time Faculty in Portland, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of New England full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Before I get into the pros and cons, let me just say that the problems with this institution is due to poor leadership: from middle management all the way to the top. Nobody has had any formal business and/or management training, and every single person in a position of power is a complete amateur at their job. The end result is more cons (listed below) than pros. I guess if you could really twist my arm into giving a "pro," it would be that management is so incompetent that as faculty, you are responsible for managing yourself. This is good if you have had experienced and are nationally recognized as a leader in your field. However, I would not recommend it for a new faculty member.

    Cons

    As stated above, all the cons are a result of incompetent leadership. This results in: 1) Chaos - there are no standard operating procedures, thus creating uncertainty in how work gets done. Sometimes, faculty will vote on a policy/procedure, only to have it become completely ignored/forgotten until the next disaster. At that point, the forgotten/ignored policy will be re-discussed. It's like the movie "Groundhog Day." 2) Backbiting - because the department chairs and deans are ineffective, there is so much backbiting going on. This is mainly from the junior faculty who are trying to gain more power within the university, so they constantly make closed-door alliances and talk negatively about other people. Senior faculty are not safe - they make up false allegations and lie constantly about people they perceive as a "threat" to their own ambitions. They are also incredibly jealous when others have success. 3) Low quality and lack of accountability - hardly anyone ever gets fired for underperformance. Instead, teachers with poor teaching evaluations will get a performance evaluation that "exceeds expectations." Faculty cannot be bothered to know how to use the email/calendar system (how hard is it to use Office 365?) Faculty don't show up to committee meetings and don't do any of the committee work. Tenure is handed out to people who don't deserve it. Also, faculty who practice without an active license (while teaching students on clinicals) will not be disciplined. If you bring up any of these issues and want people to be accountable for their actions, then YOU are the one who is being toxic. 4) Racism - despite having a pretty diverse faculty (for Maine), there are no minorities in any leadership positions. As a minority person, you will be expected to play your part as a "model minority" and not cause trouble for anyone in charge. You will be expected to work hard with no opportunity to take on leadership roles. Students have also complained to me about the many insensitive and racist things that faculty have said to them. 5) High workload - the Provost stated that most faculty work more than 40 hours per week at other institutions, and thus your allocation of work should be based upon 56 hours per week. To make this clear: the amount of work ASSIGNED to you will be 56 hours a week. To actually get it done, it will be like 72 hours per week if you are new faculty. This is much different than being assigned 40 hours and taking 56 hours to complete it plus other work that interests you.

    Continue reading
    University of New England2019-02-01
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Corrupt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professor in Portland, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of New England full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary is good. Great place for lazy people to work, because they will never get fired. Some people like Portland, ME as a place to live.

    Cons

    The work culture sucks, standards are ignored in order to bring in more students, and the administration feels no need to fulfill it's obligations to granting institutions. . HR is a joke.

    Continue reading
    University of New England2018-02-12
Found 17 reviews