University of Newcastle (UK) Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Newcastle (UK) Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
University of Newcastle (UK) CEO Sir Liam Donaldson
Sir Liam Donaldson
43 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No cons really- A great place to work(in 7 reviews)

  • "Support from academics isn't great and there isn't a lot of support for finding a career external from lab work(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Depends on where you work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Guilderland, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Newcastle (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent holiday time, closure between Christmas and New Year, tuition perks, pension, lots of cross-university interaction, interaction with students.

    Cons

    I think it really depends on where you work--my unit in particular we were not treated the same as other units in our larger directorate--more supervision, less autonomy. My work-life balance was skewed very work-heavy, and ultimately is why I left the university.I think this was more unique to the Central Services than in the different faculties and schools.

    Advice to Management

    Unless your employees give you a reason not to, trust them! We were all hired because we are competent professionals, and after a trial period it would be great to just let us run with things (supportively of course!)

    University of Newcastle (UK)2016-01-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Newcastle (UK) full-time

    Pros

    Russell Group Research intensive university with access to many research related resources.

    Cons

    The weather isn't great and there is a heavy drinking culture in Newcastle.

    University of Newcastle (UK)2015-11-24
  3. "Great city and great university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    PhD Student in Newcastle upon Tyne, England

    I have been working at University of Newcastle (UK)

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere in urban sciences building, with great people

    Cons

    No parking and usual university bureaucracy

    University of Newcastle (UK)2019-10-08
  4. "Funded Northern Bridge PhD Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Student in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Newcastle (UK) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Regular pay each month to aid research.

    Cons

    Amount is quite low compared to other positions.

    University of Newcastle (UK)2019-10-17
  5. "Great fun and very interactive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postgraduate Student in Newcastle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Newcastle (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great experience and knowledge gained from uni

    Cons

    Not enough contact time with tutors and supervisors

    University of Newcastle (UK)2019-09-30
  6. "Computer Security and Resillience Graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student in Newcastle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Newcastle (UK) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very nice people, excellent facilities

    Cons

    Not very much to be honest

    University of Newcastle (UK)2019-09-24
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at University of Newcastle (UK) part-time

    Pros

    Very good research environment, really enjoy it

    Cons

    Have been here for 7years, really love it

    University of Newcastle (UK)2019-09-20
  8. "Very poor staff morale and culture in the Business School and Central Advancement Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Newcastle (UK) full-time

    Pros

    >Newcastle is a great place to live with a vibrant night life, etc. >Lots of world-class staff and research happening

    Cons

    >toxic work environment due to low staffing and poor management >difficult to maintain a work/life balance because of the volume of work required

    Advice to Management

    I think some of the things I've mentioned have since been addressed by the new Dean and new staff there now. Realistic KPIs and expectations of the teaching and admin staff is needed.

    University of Newcastle (UK)2019-09-29
  9. "Very good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Newcastle (UK) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Trusted with your own contributions

    Cons

    Same as any other office job

    University of Newcastle (UK)2019-08-31
  10. "Really enjoyed my time at Newcastle University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Student Teacher 

    I worked at University of Newcastle (UK) full-time

    Pros

    Helpful staff and great environment

    Cons

    - - - - -

    University of Newcastle (UK)2019-08-27
Found 193 reviews