University of North Texas Reviews

Updated May 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
University of North Texas President Neal J. Smatresk
Neal J. Smatresk
374 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule, Good pay, consistent work environment(in 73 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, great experience in customer service(in 44 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay compared to student expenses(in 32 reviews)

  • "The position only exists in a part time variety(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of University of North Texas and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work.

      May 7, 2021 - Professor in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      An open and inviting environment.

      Cons

      Currently dealing with growth chalenges.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great school

      Apr 5, 2021 - Student in Denton, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Guys, school is school. At UNT though the professors care, tuition is low (comparatively), and the programs are competitive. I am a senior majoring in accounting who got into a Big 4 internship.

      Cons

      Accounting advisor is just one person - hearing back from her can take days and scheduling a meeting can take weeks. Be prepared for slower than usual responses. Aside from that, great school!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      UNT Transportation

      May 6, 2021 - Student Assistant in Denton, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I miss working here and wish I took on more hours. If I knew a pandemic would leave me out of a job for a while after graduation, I definitely would have.

      Cons

      After not being able to come back on campus for work since I graduated that year, I got very little info on applying for unemployment. I asked around and applied but not good answers came of it and was denied.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Love the Anthropology Dept

      May 6, 2021 - Instructional Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working as an IA I felt supported by the professor and department through my entire experience.

      Cons

      No cons for me- loved the experience!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Make it yours

      May 6, 2021 - Graduate Research Assistant in Denton, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible schedule throughout the semester

      Cons

      Low paying and it need more sources of income

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company sometimes cliquy

      May 5, 2021 - Research Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      learned lots and was able to pass my boards

      Cons

      can be clique and long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good experience overall, but the hourly pay is horrible. Walmart literally has a higher starting wage...

      Apr 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great first job. You solidify your knowledge in a class. You enhance your communication/speaking skills and increase your confidence.

      Cons

      They understate your hours and don't pay appropiately. They expect you to work as if you are getting paid $40 an hour, but you actually get paid $10.25 LOL. Basically they expect a lot out of you even though they pay you starvation wages. So, it's a lot of work with little compensation. I still love UNT, but come on, pay your student employees more!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Nice staff members

      May 6, 2021 - Student Grader in Denton, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home and good pay

      Cons

      Nothing that I think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good experience

      May 2, 2021 - GTA Graduate Teaching Assistant in Denton, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Salary Nice Staff Work life balance

      Cons

      You're left to figure out everything yourself. Quite lackadaisical

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great, flexible job for students

      May 3, 2021 - Student Graphic Designer in Denton, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible and makes prioritizing school easy

      Cons

      Hard to get raises as a student

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,211 Reviews

    Popular Careers with University of North Texas Job Seekers

    Professor
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Student Services Coordinator
    Learn About the Job

    Work at University of North Texas? Share Your Experiences

    or